Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Memphis Dad
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was the best new dish I have tried in a while. I forgot to add the vinegar but it was still delicious over some brown rice. I am going to add some vinegar when I have leftovers and see how I like it. I think it will be a nice addition. It is such an interesting mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
servedthis with large tortillas, lettuce & cheese...tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent and delicious!!! Who would have ever thought that all these ingredients together would be good but it's very tasty and melds together very well!!! I leave out the chili powder and cayenne (young kids) and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is so good!! I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned and skipped the cayenne for those who don't like spicy food but it would have been great with it. I also chopped the raisins and olives in the food processor to avoid huge bites of them. I also used ground turkey and chicken broth instead of beef. Everyone loved it! It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
best picadillo I have ever had. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I'm having a Cuban-themed dinner party in a couple of weeks and tested this recipe tonight to see if I wanted to use it. Wow! It is really delicious. I didn't change anything other than not adding the lime juice, and that's only because I forgot to buy it. It was so good without it but I know it will give it that extra special something. This is a simple dish to make and tastes fantastic! Tastes very similar to the picadillo my favorite Cuban restaurant in Key West makes! Definitely try this one, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is one of my new favorite meals! I served it over rice. I didn't have any green peppers but it still tasted amazing! My husband is a picky eater so I thought he might not like the idea of raisins and olives in this dish (he doesn't really like either one), but to my amazement he really liked this dish. I served fried plaintains on the side. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Nice recipe, but next time might leave out the sugar. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the tomatoes, but I didn't. Took some of the broth out & added cornstarch to thicken a little, served on Jasmine rice with tossed salad, Tostones & Cuban bread. It was good, but not excellent...leaving out the sugar might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
First off, you don't need the olive oil as there is enough fat in Chorizo and ground beef. The cinnamon is a little overpowering so I would reduce that next time. This tastes like a fancy sloppy joe. I chopped up the raisins since I dont like raisins and followed someone else's suggestion to simmer the raisins and capers with the mixture so the flavors could meld more. I followed the recipe to the letter with the omission of the almonds and olive oil. Its a good hearty recipe. We served it over white rice. Will make again with less cinnamon and will try adding achiote to go with my puerto rican heritage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States