Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I lived for several years in Florida where i had many cuban friends. I learned about Picadillo from their families. In my opinion, this is an awesome recipe! Often i don't have the almonds on hand so i usually omit those. Its just as good without them. Honestly, i never had it with almonds anyway in the past. Otherwise i follow the recipe and its GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We like Picadillo and like trying different versions of it. Had to use Italian sausage since I didn't have chorizo on hand. I am sure chorizo would have added more flavor to it but we did enjoy this. Served it with "Black Beans and Rice" from Allrecipes. It was a nice dinner and enjoyed the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Used this recipe for my first picadillo. We omitted the green olives and raisins, but added small cubed potatoes. Next time I may also omit the capers and vinegar as it was a little too vinegary for our taste (even though it was still quite good). Our friends saw my post on FaceBook and we had them come over. They really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuyInHouTX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Memphis Dad
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was the best new dish I have tried in a while. I forgot to add the vinegar but it was still delicious over some brown rice. I am going to add some vinegar when I have leftovers and see how I like it. I think it will be a nice addition. It is such an interesting mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
servedthis with large tortillas, lettuce & cheese...tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent and delicious!!! Who would have ever thought that all these ingredients together would be good but it's very tasty and melds together very well!!! I leave out the chili powder and cayenne (young kids) and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is so good!! I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned and skipped the cayenne for those who don't like spicy food but it would have been great with it. I also chopped the raisins and olives in the food processor to avoid huge bites of them. I also used ground turkey and chicken broth instead of beef. Everyone loved it! It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
best picadillo I have ever had. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I'm having a Cuban-themed dinner party in a couple of weeks and tested this recipe tonight to see if I wanted to use it. Wow! It is really delicious. I didn't change anything other than not adding the lime juice, and that's only because I forgot to buy it. It was so good without it but I know it will give it that extra special something. This is a simple dish to make and tastes fantastic! Tastes very similar to the picadillo my favorite Cuban restaurant in Key West makes! Definitely try this one, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States