Piadina Romagnola (Italian Flat Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I appreciate any bread recipe which does not use yeast! This was great with feta along with big bunches of various herbs like basil, parsley, lovage, and mint. Thanks! -Paula Akbari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I make this recipe at least twice a month. It is wonderful and goes well with everything from eggs to soup. We especially like it with virgin olive oil and raw milk cheese in the evening for a snack. I do not use table salt, instead I use Himalayan Pink Salt. It is the ONLY salt that has not been polluted by man in one way or another. Today I am making a batch using organic spelt flour and kefir milk instead of wheat flour and sourcream and milk. I'm sure it will be the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I just made these and followed the recipe except I used sour cream instead of Greek yogurt...only had blueberry Greek yogurt. I was a little concerned about the stickiness of the dough but I floured the board well and had no problem rolling. I lightly oiled my old pan before each bread and they all turned out lovely. Having flat bread pizza tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Hoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic piadine. I have made three different batches of these (actually halving the recipe each time) each time using butter or lard instead of margarine. The first time, indeed was too salty for me especially seeing that they get filled with salumi (deli meats) and cheeses that are already very savoury. The second batch I put a pinch of salt and they were great. Definitely, as reviewed before, a forgivable dough. All the ratios seem to be right on. Then I made a gluten free version replacing the flour with 3/4 of the total flour quantity for gluten free all purpose flour and 1/4 gluten free whole grain flour. Once cooked they are bendable, soft and delicious. I have posted my picture of the gluten free version with bresaola, rucola and parmigiano reggiano shavings and "un filo d'olio" which is just a touch of fresh olive oil. Living in Italy it seems strange that I would make these at home, but I prefer to make food from scratch for my kids nor can I find a good gluten free version. Yum!!!! Thank you Max for this recipe. Will be making these always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
These are a family favorite, they have entered into the weekly cooking rotation haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
We love this bread - this is a great recipe and I've found the dough to be very forgiving. If it's a little too sticky, just flour your countertop and rolling pin a little more than usual. We eat this with homemade hummus and baba ganoush. Love it! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful, fool proof flat bread recipe. I made it with my students. Needless to say anything... The only ingredient I replaced was the Greek yogurt with regular, traditional one, since here in Petropolis, Rio de Janeiro, I couldn't find the Greek kind. Thank you so very much for sharing. I love Allrecipes website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My daughter and I made it today. It was really good. We substituted margarine for the butter and we didn't have any Greek Yogurt, so we used sour cream instead. Needless to say, it came out perfect. We also did an experiment and rolled shredded cheese into the last dough ball. It was great as well. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A wonderful, easy recipe. Have made it three times now and my family loves it! I replace yogurt with sour cream because we eat our yogurt too fast. Will make again and again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good flatbread that is in the permanent rotation in our household. I sub butter for the margarine, since margarine is so salty and just not good for you... also a stick of margarine hasn't graced my kitchen in 20 years.. LOL! I sometimes add a bit of minced garlic to the milk mixture as well a few dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States