Piadina Romagnola (Italian Flat Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic piadine. I have made three different batches of these (actually halving the recipe each time) each time using butter instead of margarine. The first time, indeed was too salty for me especially seeing that they get filled with salumi (deli meats) and cheeses that are already very savoury. The second batch I put a pinch of salt and they were great. Definitely, as reviewed before, a forgivable dough. All the ratios seem to be right on. Then I made a gluten free version replacing the flour with 3/4 of the total flour quantity for gluten free all purpose flour and 1/4 gluten free whole grain flour. I then added 1 tsp xanthan gum. Once cooked they are bendable, soft and delicious. I have posted my picture of the gluten free version with bresaola, rucola and parmigiano reggiano shavings and "un filo d'olio" which is just a touch of fresh olive oil. Living in Italy it seems strange that I would make these at home, but I prefer to make food from scratch for my kids nor can I find a good gluten free version. Yum!!!! Thank you Max for this recipe. Will be making these always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
These are a family favorite, they have entered into the weekly cooking rotation haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
We love this bread - this is a great recipe and I've found the dough to be very forgiving. If it's a little too sticky, just flour your countertop and rolling pin a little more than usual. We eat this with homemade hummus and baba ganoush. Love it! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful, fool proof flat bread recipe. I made it with my students. Needless to say anything... The only ingredient I replaced was the Greek yogurt with regular, traditional one, since here in Petropolis, Rio de Janeiro, I couldn't find the Greek kind. Thank you so very much for sharing. I love Allrecipes website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My daughter and I made it today. It was really good. We substituted margarine for the butter and we didn't have any Greek Yogurt, so we used sour cream instead. Needless to say, it came out perfect. We also did an experiment and rolled shredded cheese into the last dough ball. It was great as well. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A wonderful, easy recipe. Have made it three times now and my family loves it! I replace yogurt with sour cream because we eat our yogurt too fast. Will make again and again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good flatbread that is in the permanent rotation in our household. I sub butter for the margarine, since margarine is so salty and just not good for you... also a stick of margarine hasn't graced my kitchen in 20 years.. LOL! I sometimes add a bit of minced garlic to the milk mixture as well a few dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made the piadina as written (except I used butter instead of margarine) and it turned out great! I actually warmed the milk/yogurt/butter mixture because the butter was too hard, but it made it very easy to mix together. The consistency was great--just added a touch of water. I didn't have a rolling pin, so mine turned out smaller and thicker than normal. It's been years since I had piadina from Italy, so I can't say whether it tastes truly authentic or not, but I think it was pretty close. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I'm Hungry
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Well....I added 1/2 glove of minced garlic, 1 sprig of Rosemary and 2 sprigs of Thyme in the dough. Then followed the directions as instructed. Once cooled the flavor was great! I then added a topping of the Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos on Allrecipes and a little grated Mozzerella. Wonderful...but I would add more garlic...TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Hungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this almost exactly as given, except used Smart Balance Butter Blend instead of margarine. Mixing it with your hands is really the only way to get the dough fully incorporated, so while it is messy you have to just dive right in! I had a little trouble with the first flat bread I cooked. It would not brown or puff up. I turned up the heat on the skillet to medium and used a bit more olive oil for the rest of the dough, and it turned out beautiful with a really nice flavor. We served it with hummus and everyone loved it. I think this would also be delicious if the dough were brushed with oil on both sides and then cooked on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States