Piadina Romagnola (Italian Flat Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Instead of 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, I used 2 cups all-purpose and 2 cups whole wheat. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it came out great! I used this for a pizza crust and it was quicker and more flavorful than other crust recipes I have used in the past. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
We loved these! I unearthed a can of chick peas in the pantry so I found a recipe for falafel but I needed some flat bread to go with them. THIS WAS PERFECT! There are a zillion uses for this bread from Mediterranean, to Mexican, to Italian, to Indian, and on and on. I used nonfat plain yogurt since that's what I had on hand. It seemed to work just fine. Will find this on our dinner table often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I use melted unsalted butter in place of the margarine, which is much easier to mix with the milk and yogurt. Always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This recipe makes fabulous flat, round and soft pita bread! I used it for my Greek gyros! Perfect and I didn't change anything! Thank you Max, for this wonderful recipe. I've tried many but this one is the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this almost exactly as given, except used Smart Balance Butter Blend instead of margarine. Mixing it with your hands is really the only way to get the dough fully incorporated, so while it is messy you have to just dive right in! I had a little trouble with the first flat bread I cooked. It would not brown or puff up. I turned up the heat on the skillet to medium and used a bit more olive oil for the rest of the dough, and it turned out beautiful with a really nice flavor. We served it with hummus and everyone loved it. I think this would also be delicious if the dough were brushed with oil on both sides and then cooked on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I had a REALLY hard time getting the right consistency for the dough but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic piadine. I have made three different batches of these (actually halving the recipe each time) each time using butter instead of margarine. The first time, indeed was too salty for me especially seeing that they get filled with salumi (deli meats) and cheeses that are already very savoury. The second batch I put a pinch of salt and they were great. Definitely, as reviewed before, a forgivable dough. All the ratios seem to be right on. Then I made a gluten free version replacing the flour with 3/4 of the total flour quantity for gluten free all purpose flour and 1/4 gluten free whole grain flour. I then added 1 tsp xanthan gum. Once cooked they are bendable, soft and delicious. I have posted my picture of the gluten free version with bresaola, rucola and parmigiano reggiano shavings and "un filo d'olio" which is just a touch of fresh olive oil. Living in Italy it seems strange that I would make these at home, but I prefer to make food from scratch for my kids nor can I find a good gluten free version. Yum!!!! Thank you Max for this recipe. Will be making these always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good flatbread that is in the permanent rotation in our household. I sub butter for the margarine, since margarine is so salty and just not good for you... also a stick of margarine hasn't graced my kitchen in 20 years.. LOL! I sometimes add a bit of minced garlic to the milk mixture as well a few dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Was good - a good sub for a tortilla or could of been made into a biscuit of sorts, LOL. Will make again when we are in need...thanks for the recipe though! Gunna keep it "in mind" for a "just in case" recipe"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States