Phyl's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Just a quick note: You are NOT supposed to use cornstarch in anything you home can. If I were going to make this and then can it, I would leave the cornstarch OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Assel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this recipe. I added garlic and cut the sugar in half since we prefer our salsa less sweet. I will make this every year, and I will double the batch, since it only lasts about a week in our home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was bland without some sort of citrus or cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
What a great recipe! This salsa recipe lends itself to adaptation quite readily, so please do not be afraid to experiment with different types and amounts of peppers. I happened to have several home grown anaheim chili peppers and a couple of serrano, so I used those in this recipe. I did not have tomato paste or tomato sauce on hand, and since I wanted to make just enough for use the same day, i substituted a little bit more fresh tomato and a small amount of water so that things wouldn't dry out. I was really pleased with the flavor. The sweetness that others mentioned in their reviews was there, but it really seemed to come from the anaheim and bell peppers themselves, complimented by the brown sugar. I would definitely kick the spice up a notch with some more serrano or other hot peppers next time, but I really enjoyed the flavor and texture of this salsa. Don't forget that if you add cilantro, you'll want to do so near the end of the cooking process. Simmering cilantro will dissipate most of the flavor that it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
definatley will be tried! check out my confetti squares on my profile:) thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This salsa was the first I've made and I was disappointed that it wasn't very spicy. I suggest adding more garlic and peppers. I used cilantro because my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent! I only make 3 pints at a time as to change it up a bit. Sometimes I add lime,only add jalapenos or eliminate this or that. The vinegar and italian seasonings are the key. I always use fresh tomatoes, never canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
What a great recipe to use all of my harvest veggies in. Tastes great and looks great! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Taste wise it's pretty good, ours is fairly hot after one day. The consistency reminds me of a Pace picante sauce I think, I tend to like my salsas a little more chunky/fresh. Next time we won't drain the tomatoes and may do even more fresh tomatoes to see if that doesn't come to a middle ground. Might even remove the tomatoe sauce all together from the recipe. It was easy to make, the longest part was just waiting for it to simmer down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very good salsa, but VERY important note: let the salsa sit in the jars for several days before opening. I opened a jar the day after canning and my first impression was "ok". I opened another jar 5 days later, and let me tell you, the flavors really came out. I don't know if waiting longer than 5 days helps, I ate it all within a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States