Phyllo-Wrapped Halibut Fillets with Lemon Scallion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
OMG...this is delicious. I served this dish to my sister and brother-in-law when they were visiting from out of state. They both said it tasted like a restaurant quality dinner. Instead of halibut, I used cod (our favorite white fish). I tweaked the sauce by using more milk (didn't use cream) and green onions and dill. It cut down on the strong lemon taste and worked very well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delejos
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is a very simple yet delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is very, very good! The key to this is reducing the lemon juice enough - more than one would think. The first time I cooked this, I did not reduce enough and it was quite lemony, but I added a little organic sugar to cut the tang and it was amazing. I also tried this with true cod and found it delicious, as well. I agree with others who say any semi-firm white fish will work. Lastly, I tried it with olive oil instead of butter and coconut milk instead of cream. This was also good and will cook again, but not as good as the original recipe - it's hard to beat butter and cream...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patsy0701

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. My daughter made it for me the first time. They also added a spicy wasabi sauce on the side for dipping. Oh so good with either one. Halibut comes out so moist and in this crunchy but light dough. Yum Yum. I will make this over and over again. I am going to try like a mahi mahi or cod fish as well. I will keep you posted as to how it works. Thanks Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was fabulous! My husband is still raving. I took a shortcut and used Lemon Dill sauce from International that requires adding butter to their powered sauce packet and it turned out great. What a flashy and easy to prepare meal. Will definitely serve this one to guests to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I found this recipe after Christmas when I had some left over phyllo dough. It was great, except that the sauce was *extremely* lemony. I threw out the first batch of sauce and remade it with only 1 tbsp of lemon juice and it was lovely. I may not buy and entire package of phyllo especially for this, but my husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Our family loves fish and thought this looked so good, but looks can be deceiving. The lemon sauce was so over powering it was unetiable. I had frozen fish which I thawed but realized when cooking there was still alot of moisture in the fish which made a watery pool on the baking sheet turning the phyllo dough into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I love this recipe. Great for just a few or a large number of servings. Reminds you of battered and fried fish but the butter in the phyllo has a cleaner taste than your typical fried fish. Be sure to pat the fish dry before wrapping. I liked the sauce, but used half the lemon as other reviewers suggested and it tasted just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
first time I ever worked with phyllo dough...easy enough after reading the side of the box...crazy good...this would be great for company but was fantastic for just us too...opened somet really good wine to go with it...will make again and again...would not change anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was fantastic with modifications to the lemon juice. I reduced it by half as others stated. Be careful to not burn it....mine was ok with not reducing it to almost evaporated. Also do NOT use fat free half and half as it will curdle everytime. Next time I will use heavy whipping cream. I ended up using tilapia, dry dill and felt the fish turned out too bland. I'll try fresh dill, garlic and other ideas from the reviewers next time. Cooked for 12 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States