Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MattyGit
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
The recipe should note that the shrimp should be chopped (approx. 1cm x 1cm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattyGit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was my first time working with Phyllo and I had great success. The filling was absolutely delicious. I did do one thing differently. I did not use the oil, only the butter. Try dipping the turnovers in Siracha. It is delicious. Also, I did freeze some filling and made more turovers a couple of weeks later with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Could phyllo cups be used as well? I picture the filling within the cup, baked and topped grated cheese and fresh dill.. thoughts anyone? **Update** So i made this appetizer and it was sooo yummy. The only thing I would change in the recipe is to reduce the salt some. I used half and half instead as I ran out of milk, and used red bell pepper rather than green, for mor color variation. I also used the frozen phyllo cups and topped with parmesan... beautiful and much easier that working with phyllo sheets. This will be a keeper! As many suggested, this also makes a great pasta dish and/or dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I had reservations about this at first, but this recipe was amazing. I made this for a dinner I was invited to for Thanksgiving, and everyone raved about this. I did leave the tabasco out as I did not have it, and will add a bit of cayenne next time. I was a little confused about the triangle part of how to shape them but figured it out. I also ended up only using half of the 1-pound box of phyllo sheets. I will make another batch this week. Thanks for posting this recipe. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDWARDGMYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made these and thought they were good, but like everyone else, they really need some kick in the filling and also a dipping sauce. Also, forget the phyllo dough. Just use wonton wrappers - so much easier to use and you can find them in just about any grocery store next to packaged herbs. Next time, I think I will use more tobasco and maybe some jalapeno or another kind of chilli or hot sauce, plus a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were quite tasty - a nice addition to the Christmas dinner. Maybe it was just me, but these took much longer to make than the 40 minutes prep time stated...throwing my dinner 90 minutes off schedule! I would make again, but plan on 1 1/2 to 2 hours total prep time. I found it's easier to gently dab the warm butter on the dough (to avoid ripping) and cover the pastry you are not working on with a warm, damp paper towel (to avoid cracking). I look forward to more experiments with phyllo dough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
It was okay, not bad. At first I wasn't sure about the folding methods, then I realized to fold the dough exactly like you would a 'paper football'. If you played that in school. Also, work semi-quickly to get all of the turnovers folded before the dough dries out. I was distracted for the last couple & they didn't turn out so well. You can try damp paper towels to help, but I only had some success with that. Overall, the recipe was very easy to make, the taste was good, but not exciting. It seemed to be missing some flavour, or something. Everyone said they would eat them again, but not their favourites. It did open the door to modifying the recipe with other ingredients or additions though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exact and they were wonderful. Highly recommend as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Served at an informal evening gathering and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States