Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Could phyllo cups be used as well? I picture the filling within the cup, baked and topped grated cheese and fresh dill.. thoughts anyone? **Update** So i made this appetizer and it was sooo yummy. The only thing I would change in the recipe is to reduce the salt some. I used half and half instead as I ran out of milk, and used red bell pepper rather than green, for mor color variation. I also used the frozen phyllo cups and topped with parmesan... beautiful and much easier that working with phyllo sheets. This will be a keeper! As many suggested, this also makes a great pasta dish and/or dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod_baby68

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Delicious!!! (Although I did use egg roll wrappers and left out the shrimp....) The filling was so tasty I will definately make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyper1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was my first time working with phyllo and I had a hard time with it. Once I got them thrown together, they busted open and came out a little dry. I also thought the phyllo dough was to yeastie tasting for this dish. So I came up with a different way of making them. Now my family loves them. Some of the ingredients are good but I didn't like how it was all put together and made. I'll have to post how I do it but yours gave me a good start on making mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These were bland and tasteless. I followed the recipe exactly and also tried stuffing them in crescent rolls which made them taste slightly better. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I have made these twice now. Both times I could NOT stop myself from sneaking bites it as I made it....I could almost eat this with a spoon. Phyllo, while impressive, is a pain, so the 2nd time I made the recipe, I used wonton wrappers. I also added more shrimp and hot sauce b/c some of the ladies said it needed more flavor, but others said it was fine. Just a matter of preference. I also think this would be good over linguini if it was thinned out a bit more with the cream...just tell me how!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I tried these over the holiday and we loved them. The phyllo was a little hard to work with but worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made these for my boyfriend and I, and we disagreed about this recipe. I thought they were a little bland. The dough and the cheese were almost indistinguishable in the mouth, and the hint of shrimp didn't provide enough additional flavor. However, my boyfriend, who often enjoys bland, home style Midwestern and Southern foods loved this recipe. He thought they tasted simple and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige in CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Not one other person has mentioned the cook time being too high - but I cooked these at the stated 425 for less than ten min. & they were burnt and burst open!! By the time I smelled them from the patio, it was too late!!! All that hard work for nothing. I have an oven thermometer in at all times, so temp SHOULD be accurate. To be fair - I gave recipe 3 stars, though I never even go to taste one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was okay. Seems to be missing something, but can't think of what. A different twist to tiriopites, but I still prefer the old fashioned Greek variety--cheese or spinach pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
These were a hit with my family! Pretty easy to make and quite tasty. I even made some extras and froze them. I just that them for a while, throw them in the oven and have them ready in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States