Phyllo Tarts with Ricotta and Raspberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I gave this five stars...except I didn't actually make it at all the way it says. I didn't want tarts. So...I doubled the filling ingredients and used an 8" frozen pie shell instead of the phyllo dough. I also used a mixture of cardamom and nutmeg in place of just nutmeg. I used a wire whisk instead of an electric mixer. I used a mixture of berries and sprinkled them with a little sugar and a drizzle of water to provide a little syrup then I grated a little of the orange rind and mixed it in with them very gently. I didn't put them on top of the pie, just served them alongside. Oh--it took about forty-five or fifty minutes to bake at 350...maybe a little longer. Since I was messing with the recipe I just set it for the original time and then kept adding increments of five minutes...I kind of lost track after a while. I just took it out when it looked "done". It got rave reviews from my family. I think you could use a cookie type pastry shell, too...or maybe even a chocolate shell...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used strawberries, very good. I would only make again for a special occasion buecause this is a bit labor intenseve for a dessert/snack for everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made these the other night and they were wonderful! Made them cupcake sized. SO Good! I was able to make 4 instead of 6 servings. LOVED this! I will also use the custard part for many other dishes, as it reminds my of cannoli filling...and I LOVE cannoli filling. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
LOVE, love, LOVE it! Very light, refreshing desert. Perfect for a summer get together. Freshly grated nutmeg makes this recipe. My first time working with phillo. Work fast and you'll be fine. Really scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I substituted the ricotta for half cottage cheese and half cream cheese. The flavor turned out amazing! I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because I love the flavor, and I will definitely make this again! A perfect, light dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Very good base for a start. I made a first batch, but I wasn't entirely impressed. It was bland. With the second batch, I increased the sugar by about two tablespoons, kept the nutmeg the same, but added ground cloves and cinnamon. I also increased the orange zest to one teaspoon. Second batch was outstanding. The result was still not a very sweet filling, but flavorful, different and generally a very easy to make dessert! Beware that the recipe calls for making three inch tarts. If you are using the pre-made phyllo dough tarts by Athens, they are just over an inch in diameter. Therefore, if you double the recipe (or triple, as I did) you will have much of the batter left over. (So, I baked it into a pie - a bit different, but yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Everyone asked where I bought these; THAT'S how pretty they looked! The ricotta custard was lovely: the texture was only slightly grainy, but not overwhelmingly so. I made some slight changes--used ground cloves instead of nutmeg because I'd misplaced it, and substituted strawberries and blackberries because I couldn't get a hold of raspberries. I fully intend to make these again (tonight, since I've already received plenty of requests for them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These tarts had a wonderful flavor. I didn't like the texture of the crust or the filling. The filling looked kind of like cauliflower and had a grainy texture. I am going to try these again with cream cheese instead of ricotta and shortbread crust instead of the phyllo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These are great and I've made them with all types of berries (strawberries, blue berries, raspberries). To save time I use Athens Philo Shells which can be found by the cool whip in the freezer section of the grocery store. I make the mixture of egg, ricotta cheese, etc and put it into the frozen shells and bake them for about 15-20 minutes. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I added cooking chocolate and cloves to this recipe. The tarts were fantastic, even my kids (fussiest on planet) liked them. I use refrigerator phyllo,not the freezer kind. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States