Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
very very disappointed in lack of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldina Wahlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very helpful breakdown of key flavors and ingredients. I needed to save some time so I cooked ground beef with sweet and sour sauce and chili sauce. Then I cooked onion, garlic and ginger. I cooked rice noodles, drained and sauteed with fish sauce. I then added meet and onion mixtures back in and added just a little more of two sauces I cooked meat in, dumped broth in and simmered for 10 min. I put out sauces and cilantro, lime and bean sprouts as garnish. My Taiwanese students loved it and said it tasted like food from home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
We have been to Vietman and had it from street vendors this recipe taste just like it does there. I would not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I had made this cause I heard Pho was good for hangovers...it definitely worked there. This is ok. You can buy Pho broth cubes at the Asian markets and that saves a little time and adds a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I travel quite a bit and have eating Pho for lunch and loved it. I followed the recipe exactly but the end result did not come close to what I had enjoyed in the Pho restaurant. My wife and daughter did not enjoy but they don't like to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou DeFreitas
Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
my mom makes pho too. you can buy premade packages of spice at most vietnamese supermarkets and just dump one in. my mom roasts ginger and onion on a grill first to bring out the aroma and then adds those in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
The ginger should also be charboiled in the oven along with the onion to sweeten the flavor. In addition, it is missing some of the basic ingriendients in Pho such as peppercorns, cloves, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
To short-cut, I used 1 can beef broth and 1.5 cups of water as the base. It didn't taste quite like our local pho. So I added 1.5 TBL hoisin and that did it. Also, serve as directed or it looks like a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I have been looking for this receipe for a long time.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States