Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
EXCELLENT!! I have made a practice of making these when I have left over roast beef. These sandwiches have quickly become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This sandwich was great! I think next time more cheese or some sort of sauce for a little more "gooeyness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, and my family gave me a thumbs uo to make it again. I used provolone and added Worchestshire to the meat when I cooked it. Very fast,easy and good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very mediocre. Neither my fiance or I cared for our sandwiches, but at least he liked his a little more than I did mine. I am SOOOOO disappointed.... I really thought this would be delicious and was looking forward to giving it a try. If you are in search of the "real thing" this doesn't compare (and I've had the REAL thing!). Having said that, I wasn't expecting an exact replica, but was hoping for something close enough. I pretty much followed CANDYCAT's directions to the letter except for a few changes. As suggested, I purchased beef for stir-fry (short on time), tossed the seasonings/meat in a large Zip-lock bag and marinated for about an hour. I also stir fried my meat until almost done, then added the peppers/onions and continued to cook everything until the vegetables were softened. This way, I didn't need to dirty a separate dish to "hold" the meat. I lightly brushed my sub rolls with a mixture of melted butter and garlic powder (to taste), broiled for a couple of minutes, added the meat/veggies, topped each sandwich with 2 provolone slices and finished broiling until melted. For a finishing touch, I slathered our sandwiches with garlic mayo (just eyeball it - you don't need a recipe for garlic mayo!). Served with seasoned curly fries, this was a filling meal, just not a satisfying one. Sorry, but this won't make a repeat with us. Thanks anyways, CANDYCAT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
it was great.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
So my boyfriend just proclaimed this was the best thing I've ever made. This sandwich is really good, I have never tasted a real philly sandwich so it does not matter to me the taste that it's supposed to be. This is great the way it is. But I just needed to add some of the suggestions that I read from all the reviews, to make sure it had optimum flavour. I used top round beef. I didn't use Hoagie rolls, because I think it is a US product. So I used our local sesame rolls. Had the meat defrosting, and left it slightly frozen so that it would be easier to slice. I didn't use the exact amounts of the veggies. Added tinned mushrooms to the veggie mix. Tinned pineapple to the finished sandwich. I added 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes while it marinated, which was for over 6 hours, plus a bit more while cooking the beef. Also added white pepper while the beef cooked. I added 1 tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. I used some mayonnaise and 3 cloves of garlic on the bread. Just put the sandwiches in the oven in a 500 degree oven for 3 minutes to melt the cheddar cheese, which was grated and just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oishii86

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This recipe was a HUGE hit with my husband and our 2 roommates. They've asked me every week to make it again. The seasoning for the meat is delicious. I used red peppers instead of green peppers because I prefer the sweetness of them, and I also put a mayo/garlic mix on the bread. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
thiss recipe is good. i didn't use the veggies(exept onion). and i didn't use chili powder either. but it was good! will make again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Super Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Delicious! My husband has been a Philly fan since he lived in PA as a child. This is so close to authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States