Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was great! Outstanding flavors with the seasonings on the beef. I only made minor changes such as adding mushrooms to the veggies and I used provolone instead of swiss. I also cooked the meat and veggies in their own pans to help on time. Overall, great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made these last night for Monday night football. Awesome is all I can say. Everyone LOVED them. I did use provolone cheese and also sliced the meat much thinner but that does nothing to change the wonderful flavor of the meat. GREAT RECIPE !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
OK I am no "Philly" sandwich expert and don't really care about that in the reviews. This made and excellent steak sandwich anyway. My family was more than satisfied. I added sauteed mushrooms to mine. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made these sandwiches twice now and they were WONDERFUL! I don't care if they are authentic or not, they are just delicious. First time I used leftover cooked rib-eye steak that my husband sliced super thin with an electric knife. I put the pieces in a ziploc bag with all the spices to let marinate. 2nd time I made, I used frozen steak-ums and that worked well too; however I think the rib-eye was just a little better. Do not skimp on the bread. I bought very nice, fresh hoagie rolls from our store's bakery and it really makes them. The combination of spices and meat, cheese, etc just makes for a super delicious sandwich. Oh and first time I used swiss cheese as recipe calls for and 2nd time I used provolone. We actually liked the swiss better as it has more flavor. I am so glad I found this recipe when I was looking for a way to use up a leftover steak! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
We thought this was fantastic. We're not from Philadelphia, so we don't care if it's authentic or not - thus we bit into our sandwiches lacking prejudice about the seasonings and cheeses. The seasoning mixture, in particular, is what sets this sandwich apart from others, and I especially liked the thyme and marjoram. I don't get to use marjoram enough, but here's a recipe where it's a great addition! We liked that this was much lower in fat & calories than our usual favorite, "Jeremy's Philly Steak and Cheese" from this site. I took some liberties with the type of pepper (used Anaheim) and the cheese (used light provolone) and was fully satisfied with the end product. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is a very yummy recipe! I used beef tenderloin filets that I sliced thinly and my homegrown green peppers and onions that I sliced on a mandolin. I omitted the marjoram and basil just because I didn't have it on hand. I loved the spice combination, not too salty. I used thinly sliced provolone and broiled the whole thing at the end. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The spices on the meat was VERY overpowering, you couldn't taste anything else on the sandwich unless you have one tiny piece of meat and pile it as high as possible with the onions & peppers. Nevermind tasting any cheese. The spice combination wasn't bad, but just not great for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kieria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was wonderful. The only thing that I did different was, I combined the seasonings and a dab of olive oil and about 2 tsp of worcheshire sauce in a ziplock bag. I added the cut up steak and allowed it to marinate for 3 hours. This came out wonderful and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used shaved beef which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States