Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
awesome! i don't like cooked green peppers, so we skipped that, and my boyfriend and I don't eat red meat, so we made it with chicken. delicious! he's from philly and he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I wasn't expecting much for a homemade sandwich but this was deli quality. I used Steakum frozen steaks broken into strips and then sprinkled the seasoning over as they cooked. This turned out great for what I did with it, but I imagine with the real steak as called for it could have 5 star potential. I will fix this again as it's the best cheesesteak sandwich I have made at home yet. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
We really enjoyed this. I don't know about it being "Philly" but it was very good. We used mozz as that is all I had on hand. Using shaved beef is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Really good recipe. The meat was seasoned really well, and it was very easy to make. We also mushrooms to the veggie mix. Who love Cheesesteaks loved it. Alhtough, himself and other family members who have had authentic philly cheesesteaks, stated that it is very good but not at all like an authentic philly cheesesteak, which is why I gave the four stars. Otherwise it is five on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
The original Philly Steak Sandwich after WWII did not have any cheese, just very thinnly sliced tenderloin of beef, green pepper and lots of onions. No mayonaisse either. You could get it at a place in South Philly and it was delicious. Even at my "tender" age, I still remember the taste---no cheese, honesly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Very very good. I have made this recipe twice since I stumbled upon it. My daughter loves loves loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe really surprised my family and it was a treat to make due to its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
To my family these did not taste like a your typical Philly Cheesesteak sandwich but they were good. We followed the recipe exactly. We will keep this recipe but just look for another recipe for that true Cheesesteak sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
These sandwiches were pretty good, but just not quite the flavor I was looking for. I used red bell pepper, and added mushrooms also. My husband liked them pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I really loved these. I believe these will be a monthly staple in our house. I did make some changes. I used round steak sliced extremely thin. I marinated it for a few hours. I left out the peppers and onions because I don't like them. I did saute sliced mushrooms in butter for about 10 min over med. heat. I put the meat, mushrooms, and topped with provolone cheese on the sub roll prior to putting in the oven for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States