Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Used rib-eye steak sliced real thin, put in the freezer for about 15 minutes to make it easy to slice. I used provolone, and husband had Swiss. I also didn't broil the buns, just toasted on the griddle. Lay the cheese on your cooked meat on the griddle and it will melt, use the spatula to slop it all on your bun, that way the cheese mixes in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Holly Ferguson
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this into a pastry round making sure to drain well and it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ferguson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
In a pinch I used a taco season packet for the spices- worked great and didn't taste taco-y. We use whatever cheese we have on hand. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I've made this several times as is. It may not be exactly philly style, but is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I'm sorry, but not only did we feel the spices didn't create a balanced flavor, it smelled the opposite of delicious when cooking it. I wished I passed on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very very good. Instead of sirloin try skirt steak and cut it very thin across the grain, very tender and delicious. I also added mushrooms and used red peppers instead if green. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was great, the seasoning on the steak is perfect! Be sure to cut against the grain, or it will be tough. I used red bell pepper instead of green, and did add a touch of mayo to mine as I can't live without a condiment on my bread lol! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great seasoning. I used provolone cheese instead of swiss, and subbed mushrooms for the green peppers, just for taste preference. Turned out very good. The kids especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
'Sgood! I really liked the spice mixture and these were excellent served with homemade baked fries. I made this exactly as written EXCEPT for the cheese. Used provolone instead of Swiss because I just couldn't see it any other way. Next time I'll hang onto the spice mix, but I prefer steak sandwiches a tad sloppier. And juicier. This was a little dry. So next time I'll probably just mix everything together and let it all cook together then throw cheese on top and cover it to melt everything together before scooping it into a bun. But there will definitely be a next time, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is the best seasoning for beef I have ever found! We all loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States