Philly Cheesesteak Skillet Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I read the reviews and made it a little bit different too. I made a bit of a cheese sauce. 2 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons of flour and a 1/4 cup of milk then I put in the can of mushroom soup, and about 2 tablespoons of sour cream. Then I add shredded cheese, cheddar and monterey jack. I also added for the spice about 3 tsps of Montreal Steak Spice. It turned out really well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was ok...honestly it tasted a lot like the Hamburger Helper box stuff. I don't like using my "good ingredients" and getting that end result. Very cheesy as another reviewer said...and didn't taste a whole lot like philly cheesesteak to us. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I made this for my 80 year old dad and hes not shy about telling me if he likes something or not. He liked it. I used a box of velveeta mac and cheese for the macaroni and the cheese then I added two handfulls of Mozzarella cheese..and a clove of minced garlic. It was pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I used yellow peppers for this and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom. Nice flavors, really cheesy. A good from scratch way to copycat Hamburger Helper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is good! I made it as the recipe listed with no changes. It's a quick & easy recipe that uses common ingredients. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
One of my hubby's favorites. I use ground turkey and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom instead of regular. The first time I made it with just the regular Cream of Mushroom, it was very salty. I have also used whole wheat pasta as a way to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
First, I didn't measure my macaroni - I used 1 pound, which I believe is very close to 2 cups. As is, it wasn't cheese enough for me, so I added a cup of mozz./prov. blend shredded. That really helped out. It is still a little bland for me, so next time I will add beef bouillin, to help the beef flavor stand out. Good start, but needed some modifications for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Wasn't bad... was pretty comparible to a name brand boxed dinner where you add meat though. My husband called this a chuckwagon dinner and gave it 3.5 stars. My 4 yr old and 2 yr old ate it like there was no tomorrow... that's good enough for me to make it again! I didn't have cream of muchroom soup so I used cream of potato which actually gave this a really nice hearty flavor. For the noodles and processed cheese I used a box of velveta shells and cheese and it did the trick wonderfully. I also omitted the green pepper as I don't have any and my kids wouldn't eat it anyway. This is a keeper strictly for "in a pinch" but it lacks ebough flavor to keep it in my recipe book for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was quick, cheap and easy. Gourmet it is not, but is anything with processed cheese food expected to be gourmet? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I loved it! It did taste a lot like the hamburger helper philly cheesesteak but without the artificial flavor. This is exactly what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States