Philly Cheesesteak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I was really excited to make this recipe but once it was done there was something about it that just wasn't doing it for me. I did make a few alterations to the recipe for me liking such as using green onions, and peppers to ground the beef with. I also used basil, and I did a mixture of provolone and the cheddar cheese. But nothing could make this recipe memorable to me although my fiancé said he enjoyed it (guys will eat anything) I just really didn't enjoy it, I even tried it with ketchup like other reviewers said, it was a little better but just not something I can see myself making again. Really reminded me of some type of boxed hamburger helper meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This was good, but in no way reminded me of a cheesesteak. It was more like a more laborious Hamburger Assistant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I posted a recipe for Philly Beef casserole on this site many years ago and it never was published that I know. I use a container of refrigerated alfredo sauce mixed with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I use thinly sliced beef which I sauté with the onions, fresh mushrooms and green peppers, if you like those. I use egg noodles and you stir it all together and bake it covered until hot and then take the foil off and sprinkle provolone cheese on and put it back in to melt it. It doesn't taste exactly like a cheesesteak, but it has some of the tastes of a cheesesteak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
We actually like this better as a leftover than as first. Made exactly as stated. Will probably make again and just make it for a crazy week on Sunday to actually eat as a leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
The first time I made this it didn't taste at all like a philly cheesesteak though it was good (3-4 stars). These are the changes I think makes this a 5 star recipe: egg noodles, cheddar cheese soup, Mozzarella cheese (this is a biggy), add sliced peppers (we use banana peppers), slice the onions & do not saute the veggies just put in the casserole raw. This way you still have a little crunch in the onions & peppers & can taste them much more (not to mention 1 less dirty pan & quicker prep).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
2 #s of hamburger might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Quick, easy, tasty. Good recipe for "already have everything" and "need to get dinner ready soon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I'm torn on how to rate b/c we liked this a lot, however it doesn't REALLY taste like a Philly Cheesesteak (I mean, I really didn't think it would, but if you take it by the name...) I followed the recipe exactly, except I used fresh mushrooms, and I also sauteed the mushrooms, onion (and I added garlic) with the ground beef while it cooked. This makes a HUGE batch, so it's great if you are feeding a crowd, or you want leftovers for lunches or easy, quick suppers through the week, this is great! I poured it in a 9x13 inch baking dish, and Seth and I each had a serving and the BF had 2 huge servings, and we hardly put a dent in it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Different and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used 2 large leftover cubed tbone steaks instead of ground beef and sauteed with the onions and then added everything together and cream of chicken soup. All other items remained the same - turned out amazing!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States