Philly Cheesesteak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Pretty good. Followed the recipe with just a couple small deviations. First, I liked the idea of using some Velvetta. I used about 8 oz Velvetta and 2 cups shredded cheddar in the casserole topped with 1 cup shredded cheddar. That was plenty cheesy for my cheese loving family. For the topping, I used french fried onions along with that cup of cheddar. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I did make a few alterations to the recipe for me liking such as using green onions, and peppers to ground the beef with. I also used basil, and I did a mixture of provolone and the cheddar cheese. But nothing could make this recipe memorable to me although my fiancé said he enjoyed it (guys will eat anything) I just really didn't enjoy it, I even tried it with ketchup like other reviewers said, it was a little better but just not something I can see myself making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This was good, but in no way reminded me of a cheesesteak. It was more like a more laborious Hamburger Assistant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I posted a recipe for Philly Beef casserole on this site many years ago and it never was published that I know. I use a container of refrigerated alfredo sauce mixed with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I use thinly sliced beef which I sauté with the onions, fresh mushrooms and green peppers, if you like those. I use egg noodles and you stir it all together and bake it covered until hot and then take the foil off and sprinkle provolone cheese on and put it back in to melt it. It doesn't taste exactly like a cheesesteak, but it has some of the tastes of a cheesesteak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
We actually like this better as a leftover than as first. Made exactly as stated. Will probably make again and just make it for a crazy week on Sunday to actually eat as a leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
The first time I made this it didn't taste at all like a philly cheesesteak though it was good (3-4 stars). These are the changes I think makes this a 5 star recipe: egg noodles, cheddar cheese soup, Mozzarella cheese (this is a biggy), add sliced peppers (we use banana peppers), slice the onions & do not saute the veggies just put in the casserole raw. This way you still have a little crunch in the onions & peppers & can taste them much more (not to mention 1 less dirty pan & quicker prep).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
2 #s of hamburger might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Quick, easy, tasty. Good recipe for "already have everything" and "need to get dinner ready soon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I'm torn on how to rate b/c we liked this a lot, however it doesn't REALLY taste like a Philly Cheesesteak (I mean, I really didn't think it would, but if you take it by the name...) I followed the recipe exactly, except I used fresh mushrooms, and I also sauteed the mushrooms, onion (and I added garlic) with the ground beef while it cooked. This makes a HUGE batch, so it's great if you are feeding a crowd, or you want leftovers for lunches or easy, quick suppers through the week, this is great! I poured it in a 9x13 inch baking dish, and Seth and I each had a serving and the BF had 2 huge servings, and we hardly put a dent in it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Different and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States