Philly Cheesesteak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I posted a recipe for Philly Beef casserole on this site many years ago and it never was published that I know. I use a container of refrigerated alfredo sauce mixed with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I use thinly sliced beef which I sauté with the onions, fresh mushrooms and green peppers, if you like those. I use egg noodles and you stir it all together and bake it covered until hot and then take the foil off and sprinkle provolone cheese on and put it back in to melt it. It doesn't taste exactly like a cheesesteak, but it has some of the tastes of a cheesesteak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
We actually like this better as a leftover than as first. Made exactly as stated. Will probably make again and just make it for a crazy week on Sunday to actually eat as a leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
The first time I made this it didn't taste at all like a philly cheesesteak though it was good (3-4 stars). These are the changes I think makes this a 5 star recipe: egg noodles, cheddar cheese soup, Mozzarella cheese (this is a biggy), add sliced peppers (we use banana peppers), slice the onions & do not saute the veggies just put in the casserole raw. This way you still have a little crunch in the onions & peppers & can taste them much more (not to mention 1 less dirty pan & quicker prep).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
2 #s of hamburger might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Quick, easy, tasty. Good recipe for "already have everything" and "need to get dinner ready soon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I'm torn on how to rate b/c we liked this a lot, however it doesn't REALLY taste like a Philly Cheesesteak (I mean, I really didn't think it would, but if you take it by the name...) I followed the recipe exactly, except I used fresh mushrooms, and I also sauteed the mushrooms, onion (and I added garlic) with the ground beef while it cooked. This makes a HUGE batch, so it's great if you are feeding a crowd, or you want leftovers for lunches or easy, quick suppers through the week, this is great! I poured it in a 9x13 inch baking dish, and Seth and I each had a serving and the BF had 2 huge servings, and we hardly put a dent in it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Different and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used 2 large leftover cubed tbone steaks instead of ground beef and sauteed with the onions and then added everything together and cream of chicken soup. All other items remained the same - turned out amazing!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I left out the onion and mushrooms, used ground turkey and made cream of soup base from this site to replace the cream of mushroom soup. I really like the flavor of thyme so I added more. Turned out really good. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
We thought this was good! I omitted the oil and cooked the meat (I used 1 pound) and onions together, also adding in a half of a green pepper that I diced up. I thought I had 2 cans of cream of mushroom, but the other can was cheddar cheese soup, so I went with it, and that worked out great. Also, I only had mini penne pasta, so I used that. After mixing everything up and tasting it, I felt it needed something a little more than just the salt and pepper (I did omit the thyme due to personal preference), so I added in some garlic powder and worchestershire sauce, and that really kicked up the flavor. This was great for something different, and something that I would make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States