Philadelphia Style Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good after it was chilled. I was a little confused that I was unable to pour the crust as the instructions stated. This is a very rich dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
While not the fanciest looking dessert, this is a Southern staple and you can usually find them at family gatherings and potlucks if you're lucky. The first layer is supposed to be pressed into the pan, with a raised edge. Siblings have been known to fight over the corners. The gooey topping is supposed to be creamy, rich and very sweet. Not recommended to those without a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
While this is very good, I cannot give it 5 stars because it is quite different than authentic butter cake from Philadelphia. The true thing has a much thinner crust and a much gooey-er top layer. You should have to eat it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I had a certain dessert in mind when I found this recipe, but had no idea what it was called. This turned out to be exactly what I was looking for! I wound up making several at Christmas last year, including one that I marbled red and green food coloring through. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
You have to understand that true Philadelphia buttercake, bought on the boulevard in the northeast section of Philly, is gooey and very sweet-you should try it with a can or pie filling cherries on it-almost as good as the bakery version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have had this same recipe for years and it an absolute favorite among family and friends . It's origin is in Philadelphia, hence the title . I get requests for it at family parties for the family who lives in Northern NJ and do not have access to butter cake near their home . It is so sweet and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is an amazing "cake", I've made it many times and always comes out great. Be careful not to overbake it as it will get hard on you quick, and this stuff is heaven when its soft and gooey. I have one question though, does anyone have any tips on how I might make one of these cakes in such a way that it doesnt sink in the middle and rise up along the edges of the pan? I want a more uniform cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Pretty good, but a little on the rich side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am a Chef of 18+ years in Philadelphia and this recipe is simple and darn close to the original. If you think it is going to be like a cheese cake, you're wrong. This is more of a pastry. It is very sweet, so if you're diabetic, be very careful. This a a true Philly dessert. The cake mix does not "pour" like others may think. It is a crust base and must be formed into the pan. If you have any experience making cakes or pies, you should be OK with this. It is very easy to make if you know what you're doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't know if it turned out like it was supposed to or looks like it was supposed to, but it tasted great! the cream cheese mixture marbled through and was this dense richness through out...we didn't frost it or anything - it is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States