Philadelphia Style Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is so good but directions are lacking. The first part cannot be poured in pan, as it's too stiff. Just drop batter in pan and spread out to cover cake pan. The remainder works correctly and bakes up Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Baking time sould be reduced by 6-7 minutes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amharach
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I've never heard of Philadelphia Butter Cake until I moved to Delaware and went to a little bakery in Milford, DE called Dolce's. I fell in love with it. I figured I'd give it a try and search for recipes and this was the only one that sounded worth trying and ooooh boy am I happy I did! I takes exactly like the one I feel in love with! Super gooey, buttery, and overall AMAZING! The first batter with the cake mix, egg, and butter was VERY thick and I thought I did something wrong, but went for it anyway. I spread it over a cookie sheet as thin as I could. It was pretty thick, so a little hard to spread. When I poured the second batter over the first, I tried to push it into the bottom batter but not completely mix the two, just enough to cover it. Both mixes did not spread all the way across the cookie sheet, but pretty close to it. I put it in 350 for 30 minutes and it was perfectly brown and the cake spread out. Let it cool down a bit before you dive in as it is very gooey and will burn the dickens out of you. Other than that.... seriously.... It couldn't have been better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
The cake turned out very good. Next time I am going to cut back the powder sugar from 1 bag to a half of a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i was a bit confused making the first step because the cake mix w/ egg is not pourable. it makes a solid dough that i pushed in the bottom of the pan. delish ! great flavor, creamy but holds its shape. i cooked on convection @ 325 degrees, took out of oven 5 minutes early, & rotated it in oven after 20 minutes. i also left it in the oven with the oven door fully open for 5 minutes to cool a bit -this prevented the center from sinking. worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is another version of what's called a "gooey butter cake" in St. Louis. It's delicious. The bottom should be a dough - like cookie dough - and have to be pressed into the pan. The topping should pour easily onto the bottom and it is DELICIOUS. You can use different kinds of cake mix, though I reccomend not using the ones with pudding in the mix - just a cheap plain one works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good after it was chilled. I was a little confused that I was unable to pour the crust as the instructions stated. This is a very rich dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
While not the fanciest looking dessert, this is a Southern staple and you can usually find them at family gatherings and potlucks if you're lucky. The first layer is supposed to be pressed into the pan, with a raised edge. Siblings have been known to fight over the corners. The gooey topping is supposed to be creamy, rich and very sweet. Not recommended to those without a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
While this is very good, I cannot give it 5 stars because it is quite different than authentic butter cake from Philadelphia. The true thing has a much thinner crust and a much gooey-er top layer. You should have to eat it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States