Philadelphia Style Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
You have to understand that true Philadelphia buttercake, bought on the boulevard in the northeast section of Philly, is gooey and very sweet-you should try it with a can or pie filling cherries on it-almost as good as the bakery version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I made this for a family picnic and there wasn't any leftovers one of my uncles who is extremely picky had quite a few pieces and compelmented me tons I think this will become a regular at family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Almost as good as the originals from the bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This recipe was good. I increased the butter in the crust to 1 stick and added a cup of chopped walnuts. The crust was more moist and the nuts added a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
While this is very good, I cannot give it 5 stars because it is quite different than authentic butter cake from Philadelphia. The true thing has a much thinner crust and a much gooey-er top layer. You should have to eat it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
this recipe is horrible. first part is to thick and does not pour. the second part had way to much sugar for the average person. when this cake was done,it tasted uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I have made this twice for my family and they couldn't stop raving about it! It's so easy to make too. I found it easiest to mix the cake mix, butter and egg by hand (sort of messy) or with a spoon because the mixture gets stuck in the beaters of the electric mixer. Other than that this is a quick and easy recipe even for the novice baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
i made this receipe for a barbeque....everyone loved it....i will always make this receipe for big gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I searched for and made this recipe at a co-worker's request. I didn't even know what butter cake was. My entire company loved it and now I make it at least 6 times a year for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Yummy! Gooey, verrry rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States