Philadelphia Style Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Great! ! Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Bridges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
AMAZING!!!! Delicious and perfect! I added 2-3 cups (which was a little less than half the bag of confectioners sugar, and I was actually able to POUR the top layer on. I cooked for 40 minutes and they turned out perfect! Had this only once before but this one I made was ever better! ;) Here's how mine looked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Best cake ever!! Nothing but rave reviews by all who were lucky enough to get a slice.Even though it says to pour cake batter,you need to press it into pan,if you can pour it,then it is too thin.the top should be brown and a bit crispy,and of course,gooey! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy mundy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is so good but directions are lacking. The first part cannot be poured in pan, as it's too stiff. Just drop batter in pan and spread out to cover cake pan. The remainder works correctly and bakes up Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Baking time sould be reduced by 6-7 minutes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amharach
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I've never heard of Philadelphia Butter Cake until I moved to Delaware and went to a little bakery in Milford, DE called Dolce's. I fell in love with it. I figured I'd give it a try and search for recipes and this was the only one that sounded worth trying and ooooh boy am I happy I did! I takes exactly like the one I feel in love with! Super gooey, buttery, and overall AMAZING! The first batter with the cake mix, egg, and butter was VERY thick and I thought I did something wrong, but went for it anyway. I spread it over a cookie sheet as thin as I could. It was pretty thick, so a little hard to spread. When I poured the second batter over the first, I tried to push it into the bottom batter but not completely mix the two, just enough to cover it. Both mixes did not spread all the way across the cookie sheet, but pretty close to it. I put it in 350 for 30 minutes and it was perfectly brown and the cake spread out. Let it cool down a bit before you dive in as it is very gooey and will burn the dickens out of you. Other than that.... seriously.... It couldn't have been better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
The cake turned out very good. Next time I am going to cut back the powder sugar from 1 bag to a half of a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i was a bit confused making the first step because the cake mix w/ egg is not pourable. it makes a solid dough that i pushed in the bottom of the pan. delish ! great flavor, creamy but holds its shape. i cooked on convection @ 325 degrees, took out of oven 5 minutes early, & rotated it in oven after 20 minutes. i also left it in the oven with the oven door fully open for 5 minutes to cool a bit -this prevented the center from sinking. worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is another version of what's called a "gooey butter cake" in St. Louis. It's delicious. The bottom should be a dough - like cookie dough - and have to be pressed into the pan. The topping should pour easily onto the bottom and it is DELICIOUS. You can use different kinds of cake mix, though I reccomend not using the ones with pudding in the mix - just a cheap plain one works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States