Phenomenal Chicken and Pasta in Creamy Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Hi from New Zealand. Wonderful recipe. I made half the quantity and it made enough to feed my husband and myself for two meals. I did however substitute the cream for fresh milk, mainly because I didn't actually have cream on hand, but now pleased I didn't because it was certainly rich enough made with the milk. I did boil the bones from a roast chicken we'd had previously which made good chicken stock. I also was lucky enough to have basil growing in the garden, so it was lovely and fresh. We think this was scrumptious dish and will definitely have this on the 'must make again' list. Yummy and thanks to the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I prepared this for my husband and daughter and they both loved it. It is very flavorful. It takes a little while to prepare but well worth the end result. I would definitely prepare tihs for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was very good. I didn't have enough fresh basil on hand so I substituted with some dry basil. I think I probably added too much dry basil because it had a very strong flavor. Otherwise this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I didn't think it was very time-consuming (and I have a toddler and a baby). I did have to pout everything out of the skillet into a large pot, though, when mixing everything together as it would have overflowed my skillet. Everyone loved this dish, even my toddler!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Made this tonight knowing it was a bit more complex of a recipe than I prefer to make after a regular workday. This is awesome! Totally tastes like something from a restaurant. Given pine nuts are not inexpensive, this is certainly not a "budget" recipe. While the prep time is a lot, in my opinion, it's not a hard recipe AND the big plus is that inbetween steps/cooking, I was able to clean up so that by the time it was ready, the clean up was not much. This recipe results in a lot of food, so if you are cooking for 2, be sure to adjust the servings down. I'm refridgerating the leftovers and am hoping they are good tomorrow. If so, then even though the prep is 45 minutes, it'd be worth it to get 2 nights of dinners from it. I should add that both my 4 year old and 16 month old loved this as did my sister who stopped by to sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My first homemade pesto. So easy, I don't know why I haven't done it before. This was quite a tasty pasta, but a bit too oily. I'm going to cut back next time. I served it with spaghetti instead of penne, and I'm glad. I strongly prefer noodles. I also replaced the pine nuts with walnuts since I have a bunch and love, love walnuts. So good! Thank you. And yeah, it makes a bunch. It's just my boyfriend and me, so we'll be eating this for dinner for a few days. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was excellent! I didn't change a thing. Definitely a keeper. My kids, who are really picky, kept going back again and again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Finally 5 stars from my Husband. (It is our little joke to have him rate each recipe, this is his first 5!). I love this recipe. Didn't change a thing! (except for didn't want to waste a whole can of broth so used boullion cube and water instead). I am eating leftovers as I write this review. The only negative thing that I have to say is that this is not budgetwise! This is definitely one of my favorite recipes - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good, but a lot of work! This dish gets better the next day. Leftovers are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I just made this for dinner for my boyfriend and I and we both agreed this is a very delicious pasta dish. Like a lot of people said, taste the dish before serving because salt will be needed. I added the salt before the cream and it added the flavor it needed. Will be a keeper that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States