Pheasant Phungi Perfection Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I'm not a game eater, but this was excellent. I followed the recipe pretty closely except that I added a little cooking sherry and cream. I then used it as a pot pie filling in a herbed pie crust instead of serving over rice. It was delicious, and my husband said it is his new favorite pheasant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This dish is incredible... too bad we don't have access to unlimited pheasants or we would have it every week! Tweaked it a little bit- only used one type of mushroom because I didn't have any others on hand, but still was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris I.
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! Wow, the flavor is awesome. The only thing I would suggest is to make sure that you soak the dried mushrooms for a long enough time before you make the recipe. I would not put this is a crock pot as pheasant meat is very tender and will get tough and dry if overcooked. I did need a little more liquid so I added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I've been on the lookout for a solid pheasant recipe and this really came through. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stoep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Being the frugal person I am I didn't buy the mushrooms that were dried. I instead used fresh mushrooms. I substituted chicken broth for the mushroom water. It was ok. My husband liked it but I wasn't overjoyed for the taste. I really enjoy mushrooms though. Will probablly try again with the pheasants in the freezer and buy the dried mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was a great recipe. In fact I used the recipe minus pheasant for a special gravy for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe rates a 5 star if you make is as it's written. I read through the other reviews and put everything in a slow cooker after searing the pheasant meat and sautéing the mushroom sauce. That was a mistake. Granted the sauce was delicious and very flavorful. However the pheasant does not have enough fat in the meat to be very good in a slow cooker so instead it comes out dry with a terrible texture. My recommendation: either make it as stated in the recipe, or sauté everything but the meat, throw it into a slow cooker while letting the pheasant marinate, and cook up the pheasant right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! Restaurant worthy~ I did however alter a few things. I actually slowed cooked this recipe in my crock pot. I used fresh mushrooms, dried julienne cut tomatoes and a little veggie stock to keep the moisture. My husband and company raved for days over this meal. It's so good, I only prepare for great friends. Serve it over any rice, its spetacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had a freezer full of pheasants and wasn't sure what to do with them. Then I found this recipe...absolutely fantastic! Really good flavor. Looked appealing, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kunkletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States