Pfeffernusse III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Flavor OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I love these because there's no milk or butter, thus perfect for those with milk allergies! However, I needed to add an extra half cup of flour in order to form the balls (the dough was way too wet otherwise), and without rolling in powdered sugar they come out looking a little boring. Maybe because of the extra flour, I needed to cook them for at least 20 minutes to get them not chewy in the middle. Finally, the cookie is perfectly spiced with an added touch of black pepper and ginger. All in all, these are a great addition to the standard holiday cookie and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made these today cause they didn't call for any butter, oil, etc. I tried to follow the recipe, though I didn't have walnuts so used pecans, and added some black pepper..and becasue ppl are wimps here I halved the spices. I also divided the recipe. I wasn't sure what 'thick' meant but just let it mix on high for awhile. The dough was suprisingly not really sticky and was able to shape them somewhat. NOW, out of the oven, they're really pale!! Didn't spread much at all..They were soft, airy, kinda cake-like in texture an mmm I really liked them!! Would def. make again for a healthy [[??]] cookie, and will use as a base for other butterless cookies, but will try to add some color..somehow. THANKS for the recipe =) P.s..just realized I didn't sift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These taste very good. My husband was happy since he was the one who wanted them because his Grandmother used to make them as a kid. They were hard as a rock though, but I;m told they are supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I'm a little confused by this recipe, as it is a traditional German Christmas spice cookie called "Pepper (nut) Corn" cookies. They seemed to have omitted the black pepper which makes this cookied different from others. Try adding 1 tsp. ground black pepper for a more authentic taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These are called pfeffernusse because they are supposed to have pepper in them. Where is it??? This is just a light spice cookie. Add 1/4 t black or white pepper for a true pfeffernusse taste. Also, these cookies are supposed to be aged for about 2 weeks for maximal flavor. They will be bland when first out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I made these beauties for my American Historical Society of Germans from Russia (AHSGR) chapter's annual Christmas Cookie exchange - they are really good! These cookies are crisp, not overly sweet with a bite of ginger -The addition of orange zest really makes the cookie wonderful! They were a big hit with this crowd who really knows their German cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I just made these and they turned out awesome. Except I made the mixture for 24 cookies and ended up with 50. They taste wonderful. I put a lemon glaze on top for extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ryans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Not my cup of tea, but maybe if you already know you like this kind of cookie it would be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made these for church and they are wonderful. You can really taste the citrus as well as the spices, and I was glad to find a recipe that does not add fat besides the eggs, since this is traditional for coffee dunking cookies. They stayed a little soft in the middle, so maybe bake a little longer than specified to get a totally crispy cookie. I had to alter this recipe a bit by ading flour until I could roll the balls - the dough was too wet. Try an extra 1/2 cup or so. This did not deter from my rating...they were delicious - many compliments from all my friends. Thanks for sharing this Deutsch treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States