Pfeffernusse III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
i whipped up the egg whites before adding them in and they came out a little "meringue-y". very good though. i also dusted them with powdered sugar and they came out like little snowballs. the best part of the recipe is that it is very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I wouldn't call these cookies "spicy" --in fact I would be tempted to use more spice next time, but they are certainly good. A delicate flavor and not too much fat. Only the eggs and walnuts contribute fat to this recipe. I also rolled some of the cookies in powdered sugar before baking them; they turned out very cute (without the powdered sugar they're pretty unimpressive brown lumps). My German professor had seconds and thirds, so I call this a success. (But I found that they didn't need to be baked quite as long as the recipe called for. 10 minutes is about sufficient).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
my dad loves these cookies from his childhood so I made the receipe and he couldnt stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These cookies taste great and are very addictive. I followed the recipe exactly except for the cloves because I did'nt have any. I brought these cookies to are German potluck at work and everyone loved them. I don't even like crisp cookies but could'nt stop eating these. These cookies are easy to make. I also sprinkled powered sugar on top, yuummmeeeee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMOREL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made these for church and they are wonderful. You can really taste the citrus as well as the spices, and I was glad to find a recipe that does not add fat besides the eggs, since this is traditional for coffee dunking cookies. They stayed a little soft in the middle, so maybe bake a little longer than specified to get a totally crispy cookie. I had to alter this recipe a bit by ading flour until I could roll the balls - the dough was too wet. Try an extra 1/2 cup or so. This did not deter from my rating...they were delicious - many compliments from all my friends. Thanks for sharing this Deutsch treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Not my cup of tea, but maybe if you already know you like this kind of cookie it would be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I just made these and they turned out awesome. Except I made the mixture for 24 cookies and ended up with 50. They taste wonderful. I put a lemon glaze on top for extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ryans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I made these beauties for my American Historical Society of Germans from Russia (AHSGR) chapter's annual Christmas Cookie exchange - they are really good! These cookies are crisp, not overly sweet with a bite of ginger -The addition of orange zest really makes the cookie wonderful! They were a big hit with this crowd who really knows their German cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These are called pfeffernusse because they are supposed to have pepper in them. Where is it??? This is just a light spice cookie. Add 1/4 t black or white pepper for a true pfeffernusse taste. Also, these cookies are supposed to be aged for about 2 weeks for maximal flavor. They will be bland when first out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I'm a little confused by this recipe, as it is a traditional German Christmas spice cookie called "Pepper (nut) Corn" cookies. They seemed to have omitted the black pepper which makes this cookied different from others. Try adding 1 tsp. ground black pepper for a more authentic taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States