Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I and my entire family love these pfeffernusse. I tried them out last year to make as edible gifts and finally had them down pat by this past Christmas. Taking them out a minute or two early ensures that they stay soft and moist (and don't turn into little rocks). My German oma even said that they were better than the imported pfeffernusse from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious and yes, they taste very much like the store bought version. I have allowed these to sit in a covered tin for a few weeks and I think they taste better the longer they are allowed to sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My husband absolutely loved these cookies and ate most of them...I found them tiring to make and a little dry but yummy just the same....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
used butter for shortening and margarine.....loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I was searching for my "Grandma's recipe" for years and I have found it. The only thing I did different was, I added the anise extract to the wet ingredients not the dry. The cardamom is expensive, but well worth it for this recipe, so it must be added to get the right flavor of the "Pfeffernusse Cookie" Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, as it will be my favorite ALL YEAR LONG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint James, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
They do taste like my favorite store bought, but much better and spicier. I omitted the cardamon (couldn't find any in my local store) and they were still wonderful. I've been searching for a good recipe to make a new Christmas tradition and have finally found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are wonderful! I increased the pepper, and used a mix {Sichuan, tellicherry, white, Jamaican(allspice), and pink}. I also rolled them in more powdered sugar than specified, and sprinkled them with more pepper blend at the end. These are spicy-sweet, without the rock-hard texture that Pfeffernusse so often has - I think my Christmas Eve crowd will LOVE them. Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have been told by all my relatives that pfeffernusse is a Dutch Advent treat. The spices are from the Dutch Indies - a way to show off all those spices that the Dutch were dealing in and affluent the family was. My recipes - Dutch and over 100 years old by several relatives - never use eggs, and let the dough rest overnight in a cool place. Then the dough is rolled into ropes, and the ropes sliced into small cookies about the size of a nut. Rolling into ropes then slicing it prevents working the dough too much. But if you use eggs, then I guess it doesn't matter how much you work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My cookies look nothing like the photo. The 'dough' (if you can call it that) was VERY crumbly (as several other reviewers stated). I actually added tablespoons of water to get it to clump together enough to form balls. I found this recipe very frustrating and although the taste is definitely new and different to me, I probably won't make it again because I thought it was a lot of work! I made balls the size that would fit into my fist, and ended up with a little over 5 dozen (not 18 as the recipe states). Also rather than try the powdered sugar topping, I used another reviewers recommendation for a sugar glaze. I don't care for anise so I used vanilla on the glaze. These cookies are really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i have been looking for this recipe for a long time, i love it but why was it so crumbly, i will have to ease up on the flour, but they were still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States