Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These were Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodArtist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These are delicious and authentic! My family is from and still in Berlin and these taste just like those my grandmother makes. I'm a little late to the draw and made these after the holiday season but it is no matter, they are sublime at anytime of the year. For those of you experiencing crumbling when rolling into balls just take your time. When you roll too quickly just about any dough of this type will crumble. Roll slowly and even use one hand if necessary to force yourself into patience. You'll find they roll up just fine at a slowed pace. I also added double pepper and used white instead of black. Also added a teaspoon of allspice. If you can find candied ginger this is also a nice addition as long as you mince into fine pieces (more traditional as well). You can sometimes find mixes of candied ginger with orange, also amazing with this type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was perhaps one of the very first recipes I pulled off of allrecipes.com several years ago. I love this recipe. LOVE IT. It's a wonderful way to celebrate my German ancestry with others. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
add 2 tblsp Anise oil and you have German recipe! Anise adds licorice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Terrific recipe, just as good if not better than shop bought, used treacle as did not have molasses and added an extra egg, also used ground anise, the flavor was perfect - the family loved them, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Hands down, this is still the best Ive come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
After trying dozens of recipes over the last 10 years, I have finally found it. My husband says these taste just like the ones his german mother used to make. As suggested, I used butter instead of margarine and doubled the pepper- which turned out to be too much. Will make it again using less. I glazed with 2 T milk, 1 t anise extract and enough powdered sugar to make a glaze that I could dip the tops into. PERFECT!!! Thank you thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My particular recipe for Pfeffernusses calls for dark karo syrup instead of molasses and cardamon. But on the other hand it also says store on the counter for a week. I'm afraid to do that and I do place it in the frig. Anyone else heard of that? My father-in-law used to make these for us every Christmas and they are a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I think this recipe is the closest to my grandmother's recipe I have ever found. Made two different recipes, and this one wins the blue ribbon for sure! Have shared with my co-workers and they just love them! Thank you for bringing my German heritage back to me! Wish I had been wiser as a young child to get those recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I thought this recipe was very close to my mothers. The only change I made was to add the rind of one whole lemon into the molasses mixture. My family loved them, as did I. I will add this to my Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States