Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made these for my class for our heritage party and they were such a hit! everyone loved them and i actually ran out! I diffidently recommend these to anyone who is a fan of cookies. I had some trouble finding anise extract so i used vanilla and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The cardamom was way too overpowering of a flavor in these cookies. Maybe if that ingredient was omitted, they would have been good. I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
the best! better than the store bought. melt in your mouth delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is Pfeffernusse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
awesome, easy and oh so yummy! No more buying in the store, these were amazing melt in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I need to try these again- the taste was fantastic but the dough was a little rough and very crumbly. I added extra pepper and changed it to white and also added candied orange peel. My first batch I cooked for 10 minutes and they came out very doughy in the middle so the next I baked for a full 15 but even then they were so heavy and not at all light and puffy like I was expecting. This is my first experience with baking these and I've never had homemade Pfeffernusse so I'm not sure if this is what they are suppose to be like? But it doesn't seem so. Any suggestions? More eggs? Egg whites? I did let them sit for 2 days in the fridge to age...too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as written (except for the anise extract - I used liquorice Galliano)and my taste tester was a German hairdresser who ate these as a child. He said they were 'perfect!' then added they could be more peppery. Thank you so much for this recipe. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Perfect just as is. Only thing is I did not have any cardamom so it was omitted. Don't think I miss it though. Used butter instead of margarine. I wouldn't suggest omitting the pepper as some have said. Switch it to white pepper. Also glazing isn't traditional, do dust them in confectioner's sugar after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These are my grandmother's absolute favorite cookies. She used to make them every year at Christmas, but as the years have passed, she is unable to bake like she used to. I began using this recipe about 4 years ago to carry on her tradition. I do make a few changes, white pepper instead of black, ground anise instead of extract, dark brown sugar, and sub one cup of all-purpose flour for cake flour. I let them 'age' for two weeks in an air-tight container. My grandmother absolutely loves them, along with everyone else in our family. Spicy and delicious, these always put me in the Christmas spirit! Plus, your whole house smells wonderful while they're baking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States