Pfeffernusse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This didn't taste anything like pfeffernusse. Even not as pfeffernusse it tasted gross. It's very very clear this recipe was nothing more than an attempt to promote as many McCormick products as possible. Using a different brand for each of the items wouldn't have magically made this cookie taste good. This isn't a traditional cookie, it's an advertisement, and it tastes like it. Skip this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are great! I made the first batch a too big and only got 23 so they were bigger than I was used to. Next time I will make them smaller and use a bag to shake them in powdered sugar to get a more even coating. I also noticed a slight pepper after taste not evident in store bought which are nearly impossible to find in South Carolina since Archway went out of business. I may cut back or eliminate the pepper depending on what my family thinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. These are not peppernuts as we know them over here in the Netherlands. Ingredients of peppernuts are: sugar, cacao, salt, milk powder, cacao butter, skined milk, vanilla, speculaas, cinnamon, pepper, and vegetable fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I know everyone else really liked these cookies, but I thought they were worst cookies I've ever made or tasted! The black pepper was definately evident! I will not even try to make these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Not what I expected, but they were very good. I expected a harder cookie, but these are a soft cookie with great flavor. My husband really likes these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
The spicy flavor is very nice BUT the consistency of the dough is all wrong. Even after 4 hours of chilling it was soft and gooey, and almost impossible to shape, more like a drop batter. The cookies baked up round and flat. I added another 2/3 cup of flour to make the dough manageable, and it didn't seem to make a significant change in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
We couldn't find Grandma's recipe so we gave this one a try. Not bad but not as dark (or as good)as we remember. We sent this recipe to Grandma and she said it was missing dark molasses. I'll post her recipe when she sends it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States