Pfeffernuesse IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe is excellent, just like my German grandmother used to make for us during the holidays! To those who say that this is not a traditional "peppernut" I say BAH! Not everyone likes Anise, and not all Pfefferneusse in the German tradition contain it! This is a great recipe, turns out perfectly every time, even when doubled or tripled in quantity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I don't know what "traditional" pfeffernuesse tastes like, but this recipe is great. Instead of dusting them with powdered sugar I made a thick glaze of powdered sugar, vanilla and water and dipped the tops in it. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This was ok...i guess I was expecting something different. Too cakelike for me but the taste did improve the next day. I even added more spices than what it asked for. Maybe I'll make again but use less flour and more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Good! This is one of those recipes that needs to "marinate". The cookies did not have much flavour at first, but each day, they became increasingly flavourful. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Having a 100% German mother and Grandmother this is more a molasses cookie than Pfeffernuesse although it does make a pretty good molasses cookie-if you want real Pffernuesse look for a recipe with honey, sour cream and most of all anise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Not quite the taste I was looking for, but very good. I used organic blackstrap molasses, and whole wheat flour because I once again forgot to get more all-purpose. Turned out very well, will make again as cravings hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These are FANTASTIC - I just made these for Christmas cookies and I am going to have to make another batch because we can't stop eating them! This was a different cookie technique, with the melting of the butter and molasses, but it was all very easy to make. They turned out beautifully - look like they came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Excellent recipe. The best on line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States