Pfeffernuesse IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe is excellent, just like my German grandmother used to make for us during the holidays! To those who say that this is not a traditional "peppernut" I say BAH! Not everyone likes Anise, and not all Pfefferneusse in the German tradition contain it! This is a great recipe, turns out perfectly every time, even when doubled or tripled in quantity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I don't know what "traditional" pfeffernuesse tastes like, but this recipe is great. Instead of dusting them with powdered sugar I made a thick glaze of powdered sugar, vanilla and water and dipped the tops in it. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This was ok...i guess I was expecting something different. Too cakelike for me but the taste did improve the next day. I even added more spices than what it asked for. Maybe I'll make again but use less flour and more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Good! This is one of those recipes that needs to "marinate". The cookies did not have much flavour at first, but each day, they became increasingly flavourful. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Having a 100% German mother and Grandmother this is more a molasses cookie than Pfeffernuesse although it does make a pretty good molasses cookie-if you want real Pffernuesse look for a recipe with honey, sour cream and most of all anise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Not quite the taste I was looking for, but very good. I used organic blackstrap molasses, and whole wheat flour because I once again forgot to get more all-purpose. Turned out very well, will make again as cravings hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These are FANTASTIC - I just made these for Christmas cookies and I am going to have to make another batch because we can't stop eating them! This was a different cookie technique, with the melting of the butter and molasses, but it was all very easy to make. They turned out beautifully - look like they came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Excellent recipe. The best on line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States