Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
made this for mother's day, except I made it as 2 cakes and put the strawberries and whipped cream in the middle and on top of the cake and it was AMAZING!!!! thanks for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very yummy, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this the way its written except I only used 1 pound of frozen strawberries because that's all I had but it tastes amazing, it baked up nice and fluffy and tastes kinda like a sweet angel food cake, so yummy :) would definitely make again :) Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was my first time making strawberry shortcake, and this turned out great! As Allison did, I halved the cake and put it back into the pan, layered it with strawberries and syrup (from frozen) in the middle, and then topped the cake with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It received rave reviews at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this came out perfectly! an angelfood-like cake crowned in delicious strawberry goodness. i doubled the recipe to make a giant cake for a birthday gathering. if you do this - use big bowls when working with those egg whites - they get huge! the only change i made to the recipe was to sub out some of the white sugar for brown when creating the strawberry sauce, and throwing a splash of balsamic vinegar in to add complexity to the sauce as well. next time, i may try adding some almond extract to the batter - i think that would take it to a whole new level. thanks petra - this is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this for my three year olds Bday cake whom is a strawberry fanatic. It was delicious and I had a lot of fun making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was great! I kept. It in the baking pan and iced it with the whipped topping like u would a cake and just covered the top with the strawberries. Cut it and served with a little spray of whipped cream on the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very light and not too sweet so you can enjoy the strawberry and cream flavor. I used Lemoncello with the strawberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I had been searching and searching for an excellent strawberry shortcake recipe. My mother had always made the biscuit version, which I do not care for. Imagine my delight when I came upon a recipe that brought back memories of the sublime 'erdbeere kuchen', that I had enjoyed in Germany in the early summer. As fresh as clover, not too sweet, so that the strawberries can truly take center stage, and often with the strawberries arranged with artful symmetry, they should rank as one of the all time great desserts. Bless you, Petra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oh My Goodness! This recipe is FANTASTIC! I will never look for another Strawberry Shortcake recipe again. My husband requested strawberry shortcake for his birthday, and the silly goose thought I would BUY one! I went looking and found this recipe, and even though it was my very first time making one, it came out amazing. :) (I am a much better cook than a baker, so I was very pleased this turned out so well.) Mom and Dad loved it (Dad's exclamations upon seeing his piece involved the word "Shazaam!", LOL) and my hubby was bragging on me at work the next day, even showing a photo. I followed the recipe exactly, changing nothing, and making good use of our Kitchen Aid mixer. I used a foil pan because I didn't have the right size pan. The cake came out sweet and firm, but wonderfully textured and Mom said she would have been happy to eat it plain! Beginning to end, this recipe was easy and tasty, even for the rare baker like me. We used too many strawberries the first night, so next time I might use three pounds. ;) I just can't wait to make it with in season berries! Finally, it tasted every bit as awesome the second day. :D Thank you for sharing, Petra, and for helping make my hubby's birthday a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lil T

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States