Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was a wonderful shortcake recipe! I scaled to two and made mine in a large ramekin - perfect (and gorgeous) for two! The shortcake is soft, fluffy, lightly sweet and a little sticky - like a really good angel foodcake, but a little denser, I "cheated" and used whipped topping I already have but the real stuff would have been a wonderful compliment to top this one off with. So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by kristy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Turned out great! Only had half the strawberries and it was still enough. Delicious and light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This cake was absolutely amazing. i have so far made it twice and both times it was an absolute success. I am a beginner baker and i have had my share of absolute baking disasters but this cake turns out perfect every time. I like to halve the recipe and then bake it in 2 6 inch round pans for 15-18 minutes. It's a great dessert for a dinner or a small birthday get-together. definitely a great great cake and two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I halved the cake height-wise and put it back in the pan, layering with strawberries, juice/syrup, and then the cream. Final product was AWESOME, and was better the second day..the layers soaked up the juices and cream beautifully - I would definitely not substitute storebought whipped cream for the homemade stuff in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Quick. Easy. Delicious. Fluffy. No changes needed. Well deserving of a five star rating. My family loved it so much, that this is my second time making it this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake has a rubbery texture and very eggy flavor. I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I did what another reviewer did...split the cake in half and put it back in the pan (with the strawberries in the middle). My sweetie has a bit of a sweet tooth so I used cream cheese frosting on top. Thanks for sharing Petra. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryandkevinaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is my first review ever! Petra, this was exactly the type of Strawberry Shortcake I was looking for! It was my Mothers Day dessert. Served with sliced strawberries (no sugar) and homemade whipped cream. Reduced sugar in shortcake to 1 cup. Thank you so much for sharing this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
too many steps to fit into 5 steps! step 3 is like 5 steps alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very light and not too sweet so you can enjoy the strawberry and cream flavor. I used Lemoncello with the strawberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States