Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was a wonderful shortcake recipe! I scaled to two and made mine in a large ramekin - perfect (and gorgeous) for two! The shortcake is soft, fluffy, lightly sweet and a little sticky - like a really good angel foodcake, but a little denser, I "cheated" and used whipped topping I already have but the real stuff would have been a wonderful compliment to top this one off with. So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I halved the cake height-wise and put it back in the pan, layering with strawberries, juice/syrup, and then the cream. Final product was AWESOME, and was better the second day..the layers soaked up the juices and cream beautifully - I would definitely not substitute storebought whipped cream for the homemade stuff in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was my first time making strawberry shortcake, and this turned out great! As Allison did, I halved the cake and put it back into the pan, layered it with strawberries and syrup (from frozen) in the middle, and then topped the cake with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It received rave reviews at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This cake was absolutely amazing. i have so far made it twice and both times it was an absolute success. I am a beginner baker and i have had my share of absolute baking disasters but this cake turns out perfect every time. I like to halve the recipe and then bake it in 2 6 inch round pans for 15-18 minutes. It's a great dessert for a dinner or a small birthday get-together. definitely a great great cake and two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oh My Goodness! This recipe is FANTASTIC! I will never look for another Strawberry Shortcake recipe again. My husband requested strawberry shortcake for his birthday, and the silly goose thought I would BUY one! I went looking and found this recipe, and even though it was my very first time making one, it came out amazing. :) (I am a much better cook than a baker, so I was very pleased this turned out so well.) Mom and Dad loved it (Dad's exclamations upon seeing his piece involved the word "Shazaam!", LOL) and my hubby was bragging on me at work the next day, even showing a photo. I followed the recipe exactly, changing nothing, and making good use of our Kitchen Aid mixer. I used a foil pan because I didn't have the right size pan. The cake came out sweet and firm, but wonderfully textured and Mom said she would have been happy to eat it plain! Beginning to end, this recipe was easy and tasty, even for the rare baker like me. We used too many strawberries the first night, so next time I might use three pounds. ;) I just can't wait to make it with in season berries! Finally, it tasted every bit as awesome the second day. :D Thank you for sharing, Petra, and for helping make my hubby's birthday a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lil T

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake has a rubbery texture and very eggy flavor. I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by kristy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Turned out great! Only had half the strawberries and it was still enough. Delicious and light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shez
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Baked it in 2 round dark nonstick pans for about 18 mins at 350. Did the toothpick test and they were perfectly cooked and nice and spongy on top. An VERY important step is to spray the pans with Pam Baking Spray (or use melted butter and flour), line with parchment paper and then spray it with Pam again. This will ensure that the cake slips right out after baked and looks PERFECT. I thought it'd be ok to just spray the pan when making another similar cake and it ended up a total mess! Another tip is to make sure the beater and bowl are completely clean before you start whipping the egg whites. My insertion blender stick did an amazing job of whipping them up fast. Anyway, I made the recipe exactly as listed except I added vanilla extract and extra sugar to the whipped cream. I wanted a recipe with simple ingredients for a birthday cake for my MIL and this one fit the bill. She LOVED it and was duly impressed ;) and everyone else thought it was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this came out perfectly! an angelfood-like cake crowned in delicious strawberry goodness. i doubled the recipe to make a giant cake for a birthday gathering. if you do this - use big bowls when working with those egg whites - they get huge! the only change i made to the recipe was to sub out some of the white sugar for brown when creating the strawberry sauce, and throwing a splash of balsamic vinegar in to add complexity to the sauce as well. next time, i may try adding some almond extract to the batter - i think that would take it to a whole new level. thanks petra - this is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I did what another reviewer did...split the cake in half and put it back in the pan (with the strawberries in the middle). My sweetie has a bit of a sweet tooth so I used cream cheese frosting on top. Thanks for sharing Petra. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Chef John's Classic Strawberry Shortcake

Discover Chef John's family recipe for this iconic summer classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States