Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was great! I kept. It in the baking pan and iced it with the whipped topping like u would a cake and just covered the top with the strawberries. Cut it and served with a little spray of whipped cream on the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this came out perfectly! an angelfood-like cake crowned in delicious strawberry goodness. i doubled the recipe to make a giant cake for a birthday gathering. if you do this - use big bowls when working with those egg whites - they get huge! the only change i made to the recipe was to sub out some of the white sugar for brown when creating the strawberry sauce, and throwing a splash of balsamic vinegar in to add complexity to the sauce as well. next time, i may try adding some almond extract to the batter - i think that would take it to a whole new level. thanks petra - this is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was my first time making strawberry shortcake, and this turned out great! As Allison did, I halved the cake and put it back into the pan, layered it with strawberries and syrup (from frozen) in the middle, and then topped the cake with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It received rave reviews at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oh My Goodness! This recipe is FANTASTIC! I will never look for another Strawberry Shortcake recipe again. My husband requested strawberry shortcake for his birthday, and the silly goose thought I would BUY one! I went looking and found this recipe, and even though it was my very first time making one, it came out amazing. :) (I am a much better cook than a baker, so I was very pleased this turned out so well.) Mom and Dad loved it (Dad's exclamations upon seeing his piece involved the word "Shazaam!", LOL) and my hubby was bragging on me at work the next day, even showing a photo. I followed the recipe exactly, changing nothing, and making good use of our Kitchen Aid mixer. I used a foil pan because I didn't have the right size pan. The cake came out sweet and firm, but wonderfully textured and Mom said she would have been happy to eat it plain! Beginning to end, this recipe was easy and tasty, even for the rare baker like me. We used too many strawberries the first night, so next time I might use three pounds. ;) I just can't wait to make it with in season berries! Finally, it tasted every bit as awesome the second day. :D Thank you for sharing, Petra, and for helping make my hubby's birthday a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lil T

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I had been searching and searching for an excellent strawberry shortcake recipe. My mother had always made the biscuit version, which I do not care for. Imagine my delight when I came upon a recipe that brought back memories of the sublime 'erdbeere kuchen', that I had enjoyed in Germany in the early summer. As fresh as clover, not too sweet, so that the strawberries can truly take center stage, and often with the strawberries arranged with artful symmetry, they should rank as one of the all time great desserts. Bless you, Petra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very light and not too sweet so you can enjoy the strawberry and cream flavor. I used Lemoncello with the strawberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
too many steps to fit into 5 steps! step 3 is like 5 steps alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is my first review ever! Petra, this was exactly the type of Strawberry Shortcake I was looking for! It was my Mothers Day dessert. Served with sliced strawberries (no sugar) and homemade whipped cream. Reduced sugar in shortcake to 1 cup. Thank you so much for sharing this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I did what another reviewer did...split the cake in half and put it back in the pan (with the strawberries in the middle). My sweetie has a bit of a sweet tooth so I used cream cheese frosting on top. Thanks for sharing Petra. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake has a rubbery texture and very eggy flavor. I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States