Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oh My Goodness! This recipe is FANTASTIC! I will never look for another Strawberry Shortcake recipe again. My husband requested strawberry shortcake for his birthday, and the silly goose thought I would BUY one! I went looking and found this recipe, and even though it was my very first time making one, it came out amazing. :) (I am a much better cook than a baker, so I was very pleased this turned out so well.) Mom and Dad loved it (Dad's exclamations upon seeing his piece involved the word "Shazaam!", LOL) and my hubby was bragging on me at work the next day, even showing a photo. I followed the recipe exactly, changing nothing, and making good use of our Kitchen Aid mixer. I used a foil pan because I didn't have the right size pan. The cake came out sweet and firm, but wonderfully textured and Mom said she would have been happy to eat it plain! Beginning to end, this recipe was easy and tasty, even for the rare baker like me. We used too many strawberries the first night, so next time I might use three pounds. ;) I just can't wait to make it with in season berries! Finally, it tasted every bit as awesome the second day. :D Thank you for sharing, Petra, and for helping make my hubby's birthday a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Lil T

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I had been searching and searching for an excellent strawberry shortcake recipe. My mother had always made the biscuit version, which I do not care for. Imagine my delight when I came upon a recipe that brought back memories of the sublime 'erdbeere kuchen', that I had enjoyed in Germany in the early summer. As fresh as clover, not too sweet, so that the strawberries can truly take center stage, and often with the strawberries arranged with artful symmetry, they should rank as one of the all time great desserts. Bless you, Petra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very light and not too sweet so you can enjoy the strawberry and cream flavor. I used Lemoncello with the strawberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
too many steps to fit into 5 steps! step 3 is like 5 steps alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is my first review ever! Petra, this was exactly the type of Strawberry Shortcake I was looking for! It was my Mothers Day dessert. Served with sliced strawberries (no sugar) and homemade whipped cream. Reduced sugar in shortcake to 1 cup. Thank you so much for sharing this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I did what another reviewer did...split the cake in half and put it back in the pan (with the strawberries in the middle). My sweetie has a bit of a sweet tooth so I used cream cheese frosting on top. Thanks for sharing Petra. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake has a rubbery texture and very eggy flavor. I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Quick. Easy. Delicious. Fluffy. No changes needed. Well deserving of a five star rating. My family loved it so much, that this is my second time making it this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Awesome! I halved the cake height-wise and put it back in the pan, layering with strawberries, juice/syrup, and then the cream. Final product was AWESOME, and was better the second day..the layers soaked up the juices and cream beautifully - I would definitely not substitute storebought whipped cream for the homemade stuff in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This cake was absolutely amazing. i have so far made it twice and both times it was an absolute success. I am a beginner baker and i have had my share of absolute baking disasters but this cake turns out perfect every time. I like to halve the recipe and then bake it in 2 6 inch round pans for 15-18 minutes. It's a great dessert for a dinner or a small birthday get-together. definitely a great great cake and two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States