Petra's Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shez
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Baked it in 2 round dark nonstick pans for about 18 mins at 350. Did the toothpick test and they were perfectly cooked and nice and spongy on top. An VERY important step is to spray the pans with Pam Baking Spray (or use melted butter and flour), line with parchment paper and then spray it with Pam again. This will ensure that the cake slips right out after baked and looks PERFECT. I thought it'd be ok to just spray the pan when making another similar cake and it ended up a total mess! Another tip is to make sure the beater and bowl are completely clean before you start whipping the egg whites. My insertion blender stick did an amazing job of whipping them up fast. Anyway, I made the recipe exactly as listed except I added vanilla extract and extra sugar to the whipped cream. I wanted a recipe with simple ingredients for a birthday cake for my MIL and this one fit the bill. She LOVED it and was duly impressed ;) and everyone else thought it was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made an excellent summer dessert with friends! Even better with local sun ripened strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tywana B
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was easy and delicous I know my family will love it....Just made it and it is sitting in my fridge over night can't wait to get it "family" approved. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this for my three year olds Bday cake whom is a strawberry fanatic. It was delicious and I had a lot of fun making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this the way its written except I only used 1 pound of frozen strawberries because that's all I had but it tastes amazing, it baked up nice and fluffy and tastes kinda like a sweet angel food cake, so yummy :) would definitely make again :) Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very yummy, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
made this for mother's day, except I made it as 2 cakes and put the strawberries and whipped cream in the middle and on top of the cake and it was AMAZING!!!! thanks for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was great! I kept. It in the baking pan and iced it with the whipped topping like u would a cake and just covered the top with the strawberries. Cut it and served with a little spray of whipped cream on the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this came out perfectly! an angelfood-like cake crowned in delicious strawberry goodness. i doubled the recipe to make a giant cake for a birthday gathering. if you do this - use big bowls when working with those egg whites - they get huge! the only change i made to the recipe was to sub out some of the white sugar for brown when creating the strawberry sauce, and throwing a splash of balsamic vinegar in to add complexity to the sauce as well. next time, i may try adding some almond extract to the batter - i think that would take it to a whole new level. thanks petra - this is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was my first time making strawberry shortcake, and this turned out great! As Allison did, I halved the cake and put it back into the pan, layered it with strawberries and syrup (from frozen) in the middle, and then topped the cake with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It received rave reviews at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States