Petits Fours Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
The cake lacks a flavoring (adding good vanilla helps, I mixed it in with the milk) and is VERY light and crumbly so I didn't find it suitable for my petit fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipie was AMAZING! No other word for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The consistency of this cake was great...but I think it tastes like a sugar cookie. No real flavoring, just sugar. Maybe less sugar and some sort of extract?? I'm not sure. I will try it again, though, because I love how dense it is--perfect for cake decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The texture was perfect for petits fours....but the flavor was NOT good. It wasn't sweet at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was so so, not a recipe I would repeat; not a winner in my book. The cake was too heavy and had no favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I tried this recipe twice, and both times it came out terrible. There was no flavor to it, so I did add vanilla, and quite a bit, but there was still no flavor. Also, it was very hard to get the batter evenly into the pan as it was very sticky. I also couldn't get the cake cut evenly because I couldn't get it in the pan evenly. It crumbled something bad and broke easily. I've been doing cakes for 25 years and haven't come up against one that was this bad. Unfortunately, I'm not able to say anything good about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I think the recipe should call for beating the egg whites separately and then folding it in. That would make the texture better. The cake itself had large holes and not good for petit four icing (you could see the holes). It also tasted like eggs. Don't try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I'm eager to try this, but I would like to say after reading the reviews that a sponge cake is not meant to be very "tasty" by itself, you should soak it with simple syrup and flavorings when you are assembling it. Its meant for it's texture and then you add the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATSBAKER
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe. Sponge cake for the most part doesn't have much flavor. But the great thing about it is you can add to it. Whether it is chocolate, or minced lemon zest. This recipe came out great for me. and was to die for with my marzipan frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
they were not the best petit fours i have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States