Petite Blanquette de Poulet a l'Estragon (Tarragon Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I can't pronounce the name correctly, but it is definitely delicious and worth making. I will definitely be adding this to my collection of favorite recipes. Thanks for sharing this with us! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
2 stars is generous for this recipe. It lacked the wow factor that would make me want to take the time involved with this recipe to cook it again. I cooked it exactly as the recipe read exept I only used chicken breasts. While we ate it, all in the family thought it was bland, and dry without tons of the sauce poured over top. I even went the exrea mile to make creme frache as recommended in the video. Sorry, not my favorite. Maybe iI will check back to see what other suggestions people make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2CUK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was a little too time intensive for a weeknight dinner but not impressive enough looking at the table to make for guests. It was a little bland, it needed something. But I liked the idea that I was cooking "French" food. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattipoopidoo
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
It's true that this is not a quick meal but totally worth the time if you want something special. It was AMAZING! I followed the recipe as written except used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. The single solitary little clove seemed silly until I tasted it and realized it is was a magical little clove that added serious depth to the flavors. Delicious! I saved the stock and made chicken noodle soup out of it which also was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savory Susan
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I would highly suggest you watch the webisode prior to making this recipe!!! This recipe for all it's effort, is delightful and if you have all of the ingredients at hand, is a breeze to make. I was able to find the crème fraiche, and HIGHLY recommend that you make every attempt to procur this, as it has a texture all of it's own. To try to use any other substitute will not be comparable. I would NOT suggest using whipping cream, as whipping cream doesn't have the same texture as crème fraiche, the closest -texture wise to crème fraiche is sour cream, but to get the taste of crème fraiche you'll want to mix sour cream AND whipping cream, I would suggest 2 Tablespoons of sour cream, and 1 Tablespoon heavy whipping cream. If you notice the webisode, she speaks of using chicken thighs - I don't pretend to know why, but imagine this would be due to the thigh having more fat thus it won't be dried out, like a breast would. This had GREAT plate appeal (see picture I submitted) and it tasted phenomenal!!!! Thank you Allrecipes for the webisode, and thank you contributor for having shared a delightful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Wasn't horrible but not memorable either and I have to agree with the other reviewers it's pretty bland. The meats not dry at all if you know how to cook but I expected much more from the sauce after all the work that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pukka brio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
As others have said, this is time consuming but totally worth it! I actually really enjoyed making this, all the steps, while many, were easy and there is plenty of time for wine in between steps! My family really enjoyed this and we felt very french while eating it! Tastes fresh and was great with broccoli and french bread ( or really flaky biscuts)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerdunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I watched the video, and made the recipe with 2 breasts, 5 thighs, 2 drumsticks (all bone-in, skin on). I also used creme fraiche. I thought the dish was flavorful and quite good. When I make this dish again, I think I would only use the thighs, as that meat turned out the best. The breasts seemed a bit dry to me. Yes, it took some time to prepare, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States