Peter's Pasta al' Tonno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I haven't tried Peter's recipe, but I make a great tuna pasta which is pretty similar. First, I would not use spaghetti, fettucine, or linguini. Try to stick with penne or rotini. Do not overcook the pasta! Second, while the pasta is cooking prepare 2 cans (6 oz each) of drained albacore tuna (flaked) in a large bowl. Use the tuna can to measure the olive oil. I usually fill it up half way. Add olive oil to tuna, then salt and pepper to taste. Mince 4 cloves of garlic in bowl and stir. When the pasta is done, drain and run under cold water. Then add pasta to tuna mixture. Add more salt and pepper. And 2 more cloves of garlic. You can eat this cold, or nuke it in the microwave for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe def needed added ingredients but it turned out really good. I added old bay to taste, half a block of cream cheese, 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1/3 cup sour cream. Its very simple to make and i had all of the ingredients already at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great base recipe! i added pitted olives, capers and artichoke hearts, veto'ed the onion, and added red pepper flakes before serving. fast too! will make instead of tuna salad sandwiches for a warm lunch! **edit: WARNING!! this recipe only tastes good with tuna packed in OLIVE OIL, avoid using waterpacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I used whole wheat pasta, half margarine and half olive oil, and I doubled the amount of garlic and parmesan cheese. I didn't care for the texture of the cooked tuna, so next time I will add it to the pasta with the parsley and cheese. I also think it would be better if you added some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thanks to Erimess, I made just a 2 serving size of pasta, and this came out great! The flavors blended very nicely. So easy and quick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Not too bad for a simple recipe. Didn't have much in my cupboard, but this recipe came out nicely. I didn't have fresh garlic or parsley, but still came out fine with garlic salt and dried herbs. I found that I needed a little more oil, but maybe I had too much pasta. Either way, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stay@homemom84
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Had to be jazzed up, but good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was very good! Husband had a HUGE plate. Excellent if you don't want a mushy, soupy casserole. After reading the reviews, I eyeballed about 4 servings of spaghetti to cook, not sure what that amounted to weight-wise. For a little something extra, I threw some green beans in with the tuna; broccoli/peas would probably be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Not only because of reading prior reviews, but also because it was obvious to me that this was just WAY too much pasta for this recipe, I cut the paste to ONE FOURTH. And once I did this, it was actually pretty good. (This of course also means it's only 2 servings.) I thought the resulting flavor deserved a 4, but I knocked it back because I can see where the original recipe would be *extremely* bland with all that pasta and cutting it by that much was a pretty drastic measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My Mom use to make something like this. Though she used butter instead of olive oil. I subsituted butter with the amount of oil and added about 4 Tbs. extra. I also added about 2 to 3 Tbs. of lemon juice. Then added what I had left in the fridge. Some peas, 1/4 c. of milk, about an 1/8 c. of sour cream, 1 oz of cream cheese and 1/2 tsp. of thyme. It was an easy quick recipe that was quite pleasing it's one thats easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States