Peter's Pasta al' Tonno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
Used two 6-oz cans of tuna. Still produced insufficient sauce for a pound of pasta. Came out rather gluey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I haven't tried Peter's recipe, but I make a great tuna pasta which is pretty similar. First, I would not use spaghetti, fettucine, or linguini. Try to stick with penne or rotini. Do not overcook the pasta! Second, while the pasta is cooking prepare 2 cans (6 oz each) of drained albacore tuna (flaked) in a large bowl. Use the tuna can to measure the olive oil. I usually fill it up half way. Add olive oil to tuna, then salt and pepper to taste. Mince 4 cloves of garlic in bowl and stir. When the pasta is done, drain and run under cold water. Then add pasta to tuna mixture. Add more salt and pepper. And 2 more cloves of garlic. You can eat this cold, or nuke it in the microwave for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
The recipe was bland to my taste, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, and some brocolli to the dish and it give a very creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Not only because of reading prior reviews, but also because it was obvious to me that this was just WAY too much pasta for this recipe, I cut the paste to ONE FOURTH. And once I did this, it was actually pretty good. (This of course also means it's only 2 servings.) I thought the resulting flavor deserved a 4, but I knocked it back because I can see where the original recipe would be *extremely* bland with all that pasta and cutting it by that much was a pretty drastic measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was very good! Husband had a HUGE plate. Excellent if you don't want a mushy, soupy casserole. After reading the reviews, I eyeballed about 4 servings of spaghetti to cook, not sure what that amounted to weight-wise. For a little something extra, I threw some green beans in with the tuna; broccoli/peas would probably be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I had very high expectations for this recipie and it really let me down. First off it gets very dry near the end and the pasta is hard to mix with the sauce so you have to add a lot more oil and water. Also, WARNING: Cooking tuna in a pan makes it smell and taste very VERY Fishy. Half-way through i didnt even want to eat it was so fishy smelling, and I like fish. I doubled the garlic and onion even before I put in the tuna and you cant even taste it. The fishy smell and taste overcomes it all, I would not recommend this recipie to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made this tonight after searching on here for a Tuna recipe. I made this recipe exactly as written, EXCEPT I used about 9 oz of spaghetti instead of a lb. It was very very very bland, so I added a ton of pepper, milk, parmesan cheese, and salt. It was edible but still not at all what I call good, even after I jacked it up. I DO NOT recommend this recipe, unless you like bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My Mom use to make something like this. Though she used butter instead of olive oil. I subsituted butter with the amount of oil and added about 4 Tbs. extra. I also added about 2 to 3 Tbs. of lemon juice. Then added what I had left in the fridge. Some peas, 1/4 c. of milk, about an 1/8 c. of sour cream, 1 oz of cream cheese and 1/2 tsp. of thyme. It was an easy quick recipe that was quite pleasing it's one thats easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great base recipe! i added pitted olives, capers and artichoke hearts, veto'ed the onion, and added red pepper flakes before serving. fast too! will make instead of tuna salad sandwiches for a warm lunch! **edit: WARNING!! this recipe only tastes good with tuna packed in OLIVE OIL, avoid using waterpacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States