Peter's Pasta al' Tonno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stay@homemom84
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Had to be jazzed up, but good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I used whole wheat pasta, half margarine and half olive oil, and I doubled the amount of garlic and parmesan cheese. I didn't care for the texture of the cooked tuna, so next time I will add it to the pasta with the parsley and cheese. I also think it would be better if you added some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe def needed added ingredients but it turned out really good. I added old bay to taste, half a block of cream cheese, 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1/3 cup sour cream. Its very simple to make and i had all of the ingredients already at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Not too bad for a simple recipe. Didn't have much in my cupboard, but this recipe came out nicely. I didn't have fresh garlic or parsley, but still came out fine with garlic salt and dried herbs. I found that I needed a little more oil, but maybe I had too much pasta. Either way, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thanks to Erimess, I made just a 2 serving size of pasta, and this came out great! The flavors blended very nicely. So easy and quick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great base recipe! i added pitted olives, capers and artichoke hearts, veto'ed the onion, and added red pepper flakes before serving. fast too! will make instead of tuna salad sandwiches for a warm lunch! **edit: WARNING!! this recipe only tastes good with tuna packed in OLIVE OIL, avoid using waterpacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My Mom use to make something like this. Though she used butter instead of olive oil. I subsituted butter with the amount of oil and added about 4 Tbs. extra. I also added about 2 to 3 Tbs. of lemon juice. Then added what I had left in the fridge. Some peas, 1/4 c. of milk, about an 1/8 c. of sour cream, 1 oz of cream cheese and 1/2 tsp. of thyme. It was an easy quick recipe that was quite pleasing it's one thats easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made this tonight after searching on here for a Tuna recipe. I made this recipe exactly as written, EXCEPT I used about 9 oz of spaghetti instead of a lb. It was very very very bland, so I added a ton of pepper, milk, parmesan cheese, and salt. It was edible but still not at all what I call good, even after I jacked it up. I DO NOT recommend this recipe, unless you like bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I had very high expectations for this recipie and it really let me down. First off it gets very dry near the end and the pasta is hard to mix with the sauce so you have to add a lot more oil and water. Also, WARNING: Cooking tuna in a pan makes it smell and taste very VERY Fishy. Half-way through i didnt even want to eat it was so fishy smelling, and I like fish. I doubled the garlic and onion even before I put in the tuna and you cant even taste it. The fishy smell and taste overcomes it all, I would not recommend this recipie to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was very good! Husband had a HUGE plate. Excellent if you don't want a mushy, soupy casserole. After reading the reviews, I eyeballed about 4 servings of spaghetti to cook, not sure what that amounted to weight-wise. For a little something extra, I threw some green beans in with the tuna; broccoli/peas would probably be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States