Peter's Baked Stuffed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love this recipe! It's even great reheated the next day. I omitted the green peppers because I don't like them, and I use packages of flavored rice which cuts down the cooking time and adds a little something extra. Also, I buy the BIGGEST onions I can find, slice off the tops and bottoms, and before stuffing I cut them in half. It's WAY easier to scoop out the centers this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
What did I do wrong? I cut off the tops and peeled the onions and boiled them for the time stated, and I never got a shell off of the outside I could use. Guess I should have cooked them longer or used grapefruit knife or scissors on the inside. I'm accident prone, so that really isn't a good idea for me, ha! So I chopped up the semi-cooked onions, added some chunks of mushrooms and some mushroom soup, some spices, some rice, some cheese. Some bread crumbs to top it with a bit of butter in hopes of a casserole. It's in the oven now, so time will tell. What a hassle and so totally not what it was supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I totally agree: it is virtually impossible to stuff the onions, which led to a kind of stew in the end. It's not worth the effort, and the taste wasn't bad but also not sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Thank's Pete for this recipe. I didn't change a thing. Making them for my grown daughters over the weeking. I'm sure that they will agree with me, they are wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought this was just OK. I absolutely LOVE onions so figured this was right up my alley. I think there is something about boiling onions that takes away from the 'onion' flavor. Don't get me wrong, it was fine, just not as WOW as I was expecting. My boyfriend (who has learned to tolerate onions now) thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The filling was EXCELLENT!!!! Will definately use that in mushrooms. This recipe took forever to make. My onions were not soft enough when I served them (I did use large onions though). I don't recommend using large onions because they take longer to cook and you don't need that much onion! Next time I'm going to use a single layer of the onion and attempt to roll them like "stuffed shells". I also added fontina cheese on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Not bad. Next time I will cut the cream cheese in half. I thought it was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were really good. Like a few people have said the prep time is a little lengthy, but it is a fun project for two to do in the kitchen. Also I found it a little difficult to remove the centers of the onions. Overall this is a really good recipe and its perfect for a side dish with something off the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennnYeee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobb, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe, which was delicious as is but then I also modified it a bit and I see that this recipe is easy to make your own. I used turkey sausage and brown rice and it was just as good as the original recipe. This recipe is wonderful as is, but easy to modify to your own taste. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was interesting and very tasty. Taking others recomendations next time I'll use the microwave to prep my onions and I'll use smaller ones. I cut out the cream cheese and egg I used a box of a rice cheese blend and that worked great. Thanks. Loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-NC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States