Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make. It was my first time making it and I always follow the recipe exactly as it's listed the first time and make any changes the second time around. I don't feel like there are any changes that need to be made with this recipe. The flavors are bold and with only a pinch of kosher salt added, it was perfection. I added it to cooked shelled pasta, added some more grated parmesan on top and my kids both had seconds. Yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very easy to make. This makes enough for 3 different occasions (or 3 boxes of pasta). I added salt, pepper, and extra garlic. I added the parsley too. I cooked one batch with sauteed cherry tomatoes with garlic over penne. I froze the other 2 batches to enjoy another time. I will double recipe next time as it is a pain to wash the processor parts for just 3 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Fresh basil from the garden used to make this yummy pesto. I did add juice from 1/2 lemon and toasted the pine nuts. Plus I made a taste test of the toasted garlic vs the plain garlic. There want a huge difference though the toasted was smoother and the regular was a bit more sharp or spicy. Both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
tastes great! My only problem was with the pine nuts, I couldn't get them crushed fine enough. (Husband has diverticulitis so can't have bits of nuts) next time I will try it with the almond paste instead, hopefully that will give the flavor but not the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I used toasted walnuts (did not have pine nuts) and not as much basil (had about 1/4 cup fresh leaves) and added a touch of lemon juice. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Make this all the time, once my basil plant on my kitchen counter has enough leaves on it! Hubby loves it and it's easy! Delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I used slivered almonds instead (toasted in a hot dry pan stirring constantly till lightly browned) and also added a bit of salt. Used 3 tablespoons in our pasta, then froze the rest in an ice cube tray. Once frozen, transferred them out of the ice cube tray and into a zippered freezer bag for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My husband, our friend and his 8 year old daughter loved this! I used our basil out of the garden. I did add salt and pepper. It was so good, I made a second batch and froze it for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe, very reflective of a traditional pesto recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was tasty. I only used two cloves of garlic, and that was plenty. I couldn't imagine using more. I omitted the parsley. We ate it on pasta and crackers too. I froze the leftovers with a small bit of olive oil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States