Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It may have been the fact that I used fresh basil from my garden, but this is seriously inedible. Very disappointed that the wonderful basil that I grew was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
TOAST YOUR NUTS! :) Walnuts in place of pine nuts are just as good and much cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Everyone around the table loved this but we all found it a little dry and added more olive oil. Otherwise easy to prepare, and a great summer dish if you have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by suebell4
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
so simple. so delicious. mixed it in with penne pasta, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, and zucchini.. we couldn't stop eating.. I considered licking the plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebell4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved it toasted the pine nuts and put into ice cube trays and love it great for the both of us.. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlmahoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this recipe! Made it with extra garlic and pistachios instead of the pinenuts... Used it on my homemade gnocchi and it was a hit! Doubled the recipe and was able to freeze it in 1/4 cup portions for use later. Definitely going into my "favorites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I toasted the pine nuts but otherwise followed the directions. Thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I've been making a version of this for years and I've never toasted the nuts ( and I've used walnuts, almonds and pine nuts ). So I toasted pine nuts and I can't say I noticed any difference. I usually grab a handful of other herbs to go in it. Sometimes oregano, parsley, even sage and marjoram. Whatever is planted next to the basil. It needs just a pinch of kosher salt and a little black or red pepper to be perfect. For new cooks out there, this old Italian granny swears that the best way to use pesto is to boil pasta, drain it saving some of that creamy pasta water to mix with the pesto and combine the pasta, pesto/water, sun dried tomatoes and fresh from the garden sweet cherry tomatoes that have been roasted. This is Sunday dinner in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Really good! Since I didn't have pine nuts I roasted walnuts. Also added juice of 1/2 lemon, a dash of salt, and used maybe about 2 Tbl additional olive oil. Once in the freezer containers, I drizzled with a little more olive oil (as suggested in some other reviews). My basil is just beginning to go crazy in the garden so I will definitely be making several more batches of this. Can't go wrong with this easy and extremely tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Yum! Delish! I used fresh basil from my garden, toasted the pine nuts before adding them to the food processor and added a little salt. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinamy13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States