Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I added 1/4 tsp. salt and 2 tsp. lemon juice in addition to the other ingredients. Also, I took another suggestion and used cashews in place of pine nuts since when I went to buy pine nuts, they were $26.99 a lb. I froze in ice cube trays. Yummy, yummy stuff. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I need to rate and review this recipe because I've made it several times and we just love it. I'm making it again today before my basil all goes to seed. I'm freezing it in ice cube trays (as someone suggested), then I'll put the frozen cubes in a ziplock bag to use over the winter when my garden is no longer providing us with bountious amounts of fresh basil. Thanks for a simply divine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Yummy, I added alittle more olive oil to store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Super simple and yummy. I will use this as is and as a wonderful base for a long time. It's so simple as is and easy to make to your liking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was amazing and so easy. I also added a pinch of salt as recommended by previous reviewers. The recipe does make a lot, so I froze some and will enjoy it again later. Thanks so much for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Easy, excellent pesto. Will keep this in my Recipe Box for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Arsenault Domek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great Recipe -- Changes: I didn't add Parsley & Subsituted Sliced Almonds for Pine Nuts. I do like Pine Nuts in Pesto, but Almonds are a wonderful LOW $$ sub with absolutely no sacrifice to the flavor. P.S. I typically add some pepper to taste & sometimes 1/4 Jalapeno from my garden for a lovely spicy pesto. **TO FREEZE: Pour 1 Cup of Pesto Mix into a Quart Freezer Bag. Close Bag, then Smoosh around the mixture until the bag is evenly covered so it looks like you have a square 'Pesto Pancake' ;0). Then, when you need Pesto, open bag, break off a chunk and add to your cooking recipe! MUCH MUCH EASIER & Less MESSY than freezing in cube trays - Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have issues with tree nuts so I substituted with sunflower seeds (presoaked). I like the taste even better with the sunflower substitute for the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My sister and I have never made home made pesto before but we made this on Sunday for dinner and it was delicious. We only used 3 garlic cloves which was plenty, added some salt and black pepper, omitted the parsley because hers had gone bad and doubled the amount of Parmesan cheese because she misread the directions but it was wonderful and I would make it again just like that. Served it over linguini with some pan-fried chicken breast strips. Only thing I would do different next time, and there will be a next time, is to double the recipe so there are more left overs and save a little of the pasta cooking water to add into the pesto to make it a little creamier and coat the pasta better. Thanks for the great recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
To make a great pesto you need to toast the pine nuts. Since the instructions never mention that I only rated this a 3. Toast the pine nuts and you have a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States