Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great Recipe -- Changes: I didn't add Parsley & Subsituted Sliced Almonds for Pine Nuts. I do like Pine Nuts in Pesto, but Almonds are a wonderful LOW $$ sub with absolutely no sacrifice to the flavor. P.S. I typically add some pepper to taste & sometimes 1/4 Jalapeno from my garden for a lovely spicy pesto. **TO FREEZE: Pour 1 Cup of Pesto Mix into a Quart Freezer Bag. Close Bag, then Smoosh around the mixture until the bag is evenly covered so it looks like you have a square 'Pesto Pancake' ;0). Then, when you need Pesto, open bag, break off a chunk and add to your cooking recipe! MUCH MUCH EASIER & Less MESSY than freezing in cube trays - Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I have issues with tree nuts so I substituted with sunflower seeds (presoaked). I like the taste even better with the sunflower substitute for the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My sister and I have never made home made pesto before but we made this on Sunday for dinner and it was delicious. We only used 3 garlic cloves which was plenty, added some salt and black pepper, omitted the parsley because hers had gone bad and doubled the amount of Parmesan cheese because she misread the directions but it was wonderful and I would make it again just like that. Served it over linguini with some pan-fried chicken breast strips. Only thing I would do different next time, and there will be a next time, is to double the recipe so there are more left overs and save a little of the pasta cooking water to add into the pesto to make it a little creamier and coat the pasta better. Thanks for the great recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
To make a great pesto you need to toast the pine nuts. Since the instructions never mention that I only rated this a 3. Toast the pine nuts and you have a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It may have been the fact that I used fresh basil from my garden, but this is seriously inedible. Very disappointed that the wonderful basil that I grew was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
TOAST YOUR NUTS! :) Walnuts in place of pine nuts are just as good and much cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Everyone around the table loved this but we all found it a little dry and added more olive oil. Otherwise easy to prepare, and a great summer dish if you have fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by suebell4
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
so simple. so delicious. mixed it in with penne pasta, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, and zucchini.. we couldn't stop eating.. I considered licking the plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebell4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved it toasted the pine nuts and put into ice cube trays and love it great for the both of us.. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlmahoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this recipe! Made it with extra garlic and pistachios instead of the pinenuts... Used it on my homemade gnocchi and it was a hit! Doubled the recipe and was able to freeze it in 1/4 cup portions for use later. Definitely going into my "favorites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States