Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Fresh basil from the garden used to make this yummy pesto. I did add juice from 1/2 lemon and toasted the pine nuts. Plus I made a taste test of the toasted garlic vs the plain garlic. There want a huge difference though the toasted was smoother and the regular was a bit more sharp or spicy. Both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
tastes great! My only problem was with the pine nuts, I couldn't get them crushed fine enough. (Husband has diverticulitis so can't have bits of nuts) next time I will try it with the almond paste instead, hopefully that will give the flavor but not the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I used toasted walnuts (did not have pine nuts) and not as much basil (had about 1/4 cup fresh leaves) and added a touch of lemon juice. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Make this all the time, once my basil plant on my kitchen counter has enough leaves on it! Hubby loves it and it's easy! Delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I used slivered almonds instead (toasted in a hot dry pan stirring constantly till lightly browned) and also added a bit of salt. Used 3 tablespoons in our pasta, then froze the rest in an ice cube tray. Once frozen, transferred them out of the ice cube tray and into a zippered freezer bag for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My husband, our friend and his 8 year old daughter loved this! I used our basil out of the garden. I did add salt and pepper. It was so good, I made a second batch and froze it for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Betts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe, very reflective of a traditional pesto recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was tasty. I only used two cloves of garlic, and that was plenty. I couldn't imagine using more. I omitted the parsley. We ate it on pasta and crackers too. I froze the leftovers with a small bit of olive oil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Didn't have any parsley, and only used 1/2 cup parmesan, but my oh my! This is good stuff! I used 2/3 sweet basil, and 1/3 Genovese basil, then put that on pasta. Ummmmm! Then I made a recipe with 1/3 sweet basil, 1/3 Genovese basil, and 1/3 Thai basil - this is so excellent on homemade bread! Oh, oh, oh! We are all full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Just divine! I tweaked mine just a little to my taste. Reduced garlic cloves to 3. Used 1/2 cup of freshly grated high-end parmesan. I like Spanish olive oil because is has a strong taste. Left out the parsley. I think next time I will try toasting the pine nuts. I used the pesto over some curly pasta and I could have eaten the entire pot it was SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States