Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was the best pesto I ever had!!! I would't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I just adore this recipe! I added a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, cracked pepper, sea salt, and a dash (or three) of Old Bay and it really added a fantastic addition! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made this pesto tonight and loved it. Only change was that we used pistachios instead of pine nuts. We mixed it in our pasta dish and froze the rest for more yum at a later date. Really easy and now printed and put in the recipe box. Great cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have been looking for a really good pesto recipe to use up all of the wonderful fresh basil I have been growing this summer. After reading all of the great reviews I knew this was the one to try. I won't be looking any further, this is it! I listened to another reviewer and only put 2 cloves of garlic in and also left out the parsley. I served it on whole wheat pasta, sauteed red bell pepper strips, and shrimp sautéed in T. butter, some paprika and cayenne with a little lemon juice. I also sprinkled some toasted pine nuts on top. Delicious! My husband raved. I loved the idea of freezing the rest in an ice cube tray for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My family loved this, I didn't add as much olive oil. I also added a bit of lemon juice to brighten up the flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I agree with naples31402 that the garlic should be reduced by half. I'm a cheese lover so I kept the amount as is. My biggest alteration was adding a single Thai Pepper. Wow! If you like hot this will work for you. I wouldn't add more than one pepper. You can use a fresh Cayenne Pepper in place of the Thai Pepper which should be slightly less hotter. BEATLEFAN1964 has an excellent point using a few drops of fresh lemon juice to mitigate the oxidation of the fresh basil. I made fresh linguini pasta for this dish which was a great idea. Just remember to keep about 1/4 cup of the pasta water and mix that with the pesto sauce to help bind it to the pasta. Buon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I found this too thick. Always ended up adding more oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Simple and fast. Despite I used dried basil, the result was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Awesome! I used raw blanched almonds instead of pinenuts because pinenuts were $12.99/oz at my grocery store! I also doubled the nuts and used 1 cup of shredded parmesan. YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States