Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Boyfriend loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My sister and I made this recipe in LARGE quantities to use the remaining basil from her garden right before an autumn "frost" was forecast. The house smelled heavenly and the pasta tasted exactly the same. We 'froze' the pesto in zipper freezer bags so that they would lay flat and store well for the winter, if they last. Super, delicious recipe. We chose not to use any nuts at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Perfection!!! Amazing easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I put it on sandwiches and pasta and it's perfect. I always roast the pine nuts prior to blending them in the food processor. Also reserve some nuts to put on top for a nice garnish. I have used pecans to make this before too, I roast them too and blend them just like the pine nuts, but I still use pine nuts to garnish. So if you're in a pinch and have some left over pecans from Thanksgiving, whip 'em in there and it's fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this as directed, omitting the optional parsley & toasting the pine nuts as others suggested. I scaled the recipe down to one cup of packed basil leaves to make just enough for the recipe I was using it in. I It was excellent! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Photo by Garden lover
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've been doing this for years!! Soooo easy and you can revise it to accommodate any combination of spices you enjoy . I then freeze the paste or mixture in sandwich size plastic containers. After a day or so, remove from freezer, pop it out( usually very easily) but if stubborn , run a little hot water over bottom. Then place in frizzer bag, remove as much air as possible, label for your own reference and when your ready to use , remove, break off a chunk toss right into your dish or defrost in micro on low for. A nice bread spread or pesto for pasta!! Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've been making pesto for over 30 years, and you can freeze it in little cubes -- but I never do. I make lots each summer (5 to 10 pounds of basil) and keep it in large jars in my refrigerator. After making the pesto and pouring it into the jars, all you do is make sure there are no air bubbles in the pesto, smooth it off at the top and seal it with olive oil before closing the lid. When you scoop some out of the jar, just smooth it off again and pour more olive oil on the top, then close the lid. I've kept jars of pesto in my refrigerator for as long as three years and it gets better as it ages. During the time I've been making pesto, I've only lost two jars (air bubbles). Freezing is OK, but the flavor won't really develop like it does when it's refrigerated. P.S. Don't bother chopping the parsley - it will get cut up in the food processor with everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
great - and the idea of making pesto cubes - terrific and time-saving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Straight forward and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe! I threw in about 1/3 of a medium jalapeno in one batch and YUM. It was fabulous. Froze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States