Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Made a half batch - loved the flavor of the toasted pine nuts and the addition of the parsley! Scooped in to cubes to freeze for later! I also added a tablespoon or two of lemon juice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made about a double portion of this one. Good recipe to start with, but needed to adjust considerably to my taste. I added a *lot* more garlic than listed (about 10x what was called for) and also added about a tsp of salt and used toasted walnuts instead of pine nuts (only because that is what I had). Lastly, I squeezed one small lemon into the batch which adds a nice flavor and should help to preserve it a little bit. Mixed about 2 cups into 2 batches of pasta and it is excellent. Sprinkled cheese and salt on top and it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Didn't add parsley. Added lots of black pepper and a little kosher salt. It was delicious with grilled chicken and veggies over fettuccini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Perfect ratio of pine nuts, olive oil and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used walnuts, because I didn't have any pine nuts (they're outrageously expensive at the moment!), and toasted them as another reviewer recommended for the pine nuts. I also threw in some kale for extra nutritional punch, and the result is delicious! Oh, and I omitted the parsley, and reduced the garlic to two cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I just made a new batch with watercress, it has a nice peppery kick. Pine nuts can be very expensive, I substitute with pistachio's, works perfectly. i freeze it in small plastic baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yep, that is the flavor of pesto that I know and love. Put it on macaroni and steamed veggies, and it was great. Took it over to friends' home and served it. They said, "Elegant."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this pesto last August with a big pile of basil leaves from my garden, and everyone went absolutely crazy for it! It was far easier than I expected. I only have a mini food processor so I made it in little batches and it turned out perfectly. This summer, I will try to make it every couple weeks so I have enough to freeze a batch for winter. So angry at myself for not doing that last summer. I skipped the parsley but I did add lemon juice as a few reviewers recommended. The lemon juice did not change the taste noticeably and it definitely helped to preserve the bright green color. My Italian mother in law was actually impressed. That's rare, so it's a definite winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have a new appreciation for Pesto now. I made extra and froze in individual bags for ease in meal preparation during the week...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good results and simple recipe. Not much else I can say about a pesto recipe. If you serve it with pasta, cook to al dente, rinse with cold water (to stop cooking and keep the texture from becoming mushy), and drain. Next time I'll try toasting the pine nuts like others suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States