Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TwissyTway
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this recipe to satisfy my daughter's craving for pesto pasta of a restaurant that we no longer live near. It was very simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly, including the parsley. I made it to use in the Pesto Pasta recipe I also found on this site. Even though I doubled the pesto for that recipe I still had plenty left over to freeze in cubes as others have recommended. I'm looking forward to reducing prep time for the next time we want a pesto dish. My daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
too much garlic other wise was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was using walnuts instead of pine nuts only because I couldn't find pine nuts at my grocery store. Would definitely still try with pine nuts if I could find them. But it was still really good like this. Makes about 1 standard 8oz jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I like a thicker pesto. Used 1/4 oil and 1/2 cup Parmesan. The hint of parsley helps mellow the pesto but still leaves it bright tasting. This is good for people who are not huge basil fans. I can eat it straight so I am on the fence with the parsely. I added kosher salt and fresh pepper. Freeze in a quart ziploc, press flat and squeeze out air. Works better than ice cubes, just break off as much as you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
So easy and so good. I use this pesto on salads, bread and of course pasta. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great balance of flavors. I even freeze some and make pesto pasta in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make. It was my first time making it and I always follow the recipe exactly as it's listed the first time and make any changes the second time around. I don't feel like there are any changes that need to be made with this recipe. The flavors are bold and with only a pinch of kosher salt added, it was perfection. I added it to cooked shelled pasta, added some more grated parmesan on top and my kids both had seconds. Yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very easy to make. This makes enough for 3 different occasions (or 3 boxes of pasta). I added salt, pepper, and extra garlic. I added the parsley too. I cooked one batch with sauteed cherry tomatoes with garlic over penne. I froze the other 2 batches to enjoy another time. I will double recipe next time as it is a pain to wash the processor parts for just 3 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Fresh basil from the garden used to make this yummy pesto. I did add juice from 1/2 lemon and toasted the pine nuts. Plus I made a taste test of the toasted garlic vs the plain garlic. There want a huge difference though the toasted was smoother and the regular was a bit more sharp or spicy. Both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
tastes great! My only problem was with the pine nuts, I couldn't get them crushed fine enough. (Husband has diverticulitis so can't have bits of nuts) next time I will try it with the almond paste instead, hopefully that will give the flavor but not the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States