Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tjsenior
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
It turned out better than expected, and was the hit of my party, My basil is growing in raised beds beside my patio, just pick it and make pesto, grand!!! It is five stars in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was really really good. I mean lick the bowl clean good. I used walnuts instead of pine nuts because I had them on hand. I also used Romano cheese instead of Parmesean. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Perfect pesto! Ran short of pine nuts so subbed in some almonds...still came out perfect. This freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Delicious!!! Never even knew my family like pesto until I made this for stuffed chicken pesto. I needed a recipe to use up some basil. We have 5 basil plants and a ton of basil. Making more this weekend to freeze. The only change I made was omitting the pine nuts due to an allergy in our family. Still tasted amazing!! Loved the parmigiana cheese. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I have been making pesto for the past few summers, but always winged it and never really was satisfied if I was making it correctly. I decided to try this recipe mostly to see if my ratios of basil, oil, pine nuts, garlic and parmesan were correct. I followed the recipe almost exactly and I have to say it was my best tasting pesto yet. I made 2 slight changes. I used 1/2 pine nuts and 1/2 slivered almonds. Pine nuts are so expensive. I also used "young" garlic which was being sold at my farmer's market this week. This garlic is not fully dried and has a slightly sweeter taste. This may have made a difference because I noticed some reviewers stated they cut the amount of garlic in half. One thing I learned from this recipe is I was not using enough fresh basil or olive oil in my previous attempts. Great recipe, simple and great tasting. Appreciate Anderval for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Perfect starter, i like a touch of fresh lemon juice, the pine nuts toasted, and just a touch of salt . Pepper also if you don't add parsley .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
It was a little bland as is. I added extra basil, salt, pepper and red chili flakes and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This recipe served as a starting point for me. I've had fresh pesto before and the garlic was overwhelming. So I used this recipe and roasted a whole head of garlic. added a pinch of salt and subbed almonds for pine nuts. I can already tell it's amazing but I'm going to let it sit overnight before using it in bruschetta and pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
So easy and so very good. Maybe just a bit of salt but otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States