Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
The amount of oil in this recipe isn't anywhere near enough, I did 4 cups basil and used 1 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil. Too much garlic, I used 2 cloves. The pine nuts should be toasted for better flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
What a fabulous recipe...... Really joyed it on our quonia and sweet potato pasta. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Rogers
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
One word :Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Wonderful recipe! I've made it two times already with the fresh basil in my garden. I've frozen some so I can enjoy it this winter. I followed the recipe and added the parsley. I like how the parsley mellowed out the basil. Won't need to look elsewhere for a pesto recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mas_il

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Perfect Pesto recipe!! I would add some salt if serving it to others, but it was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Delicious! If pine nuts aren't readily available, walnuts, pecans or even almonds are great substitutes. Doesn't hurt to add a bit of lemon juice and a pinch of salt, too. We always plant basil so we can have a plentiful supply for pesto. We have successfully been able to preserve it by pressing plastic wrap on the surface of the pesto in a glass storage jar, then sealing with a plastic top and keeping in the refrigerator, or by spraying ice cube trays with olive oil, filling with pesto and freezing. Once solidly frozen, pop out and store in a freezer bag in the freezer, taking out only as many 'pesto cubes' as we need for our recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Excellent! I've added a little fresh oregano, at times and usually a pinch of salt. Also, I've substituted toasted or raw sunflower seeds, but pine nuts are better; just more expensive. I've mixed a bit of pesto into a green salad for a different dressing, and put it on a Triscuit, with a sliver of Parmesan and basil leaf &/or black olive, as an hors d'oeuvres. This recipe is classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
First time making pesto!!! My neighbor grew a lot of basil and told me to take as much as I want. Yummm!!!! I just added a little sea salt to it. I froze it in an ice cube tray for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
What an easy and delicious pesto recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
OMG! I wish I could award this 10 stars! I made it exactly as directed and used the full amount of parsley. As suggested by other reviewers, I toasted the pine nuts and added a smidge of salt. This recipe is amazingly fast to pull together and a GREAT way to use up an herb garden's summer bounty. This will become a new staple in my house. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States